Author Topic: Send Command Turn On to MD  (Read 1607 times)

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3012
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Send Command Turn On to MD
« on: December 19, 2007, 01:50:14 pm »
Hello,

I want to turn my MD on from remote. It works from within an Orbiter to turn the MD on. However, if I send a Command On to the that orbiter, it does not get turned on.

The MD is a Compaq Notebook seemingly turned on by a Wake-On-Lan or Magic Packet.

Anyone has any insight as to how to turn on that device with a command?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Regards

Oliver

jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2008, 02:01:14 am »
Sort of along the lines that created this post, does anyone know how to ignore a magic packet signal?

I have a MD in the garage (Fujitsu B Series laptop) that only has speakers attached to it.  Whenever I start the core (maybe even reboot) it fires on this laptop- granted will be a great feature whenever you get home from a vacation and didn't leave the core on and want ever MD/Orbiter in the house to kick on.  For now, however, I'd like to disable the core sending this message until I manually turn it on either by pressing "ON" or by telling the core to send the magic packet.  I could disable the WOL in the BIOS, but then I couldn't remotely turn the computer on.


Thanks

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2008, 03:05:47 pm »
Hello,

I want to turn my MD on from remote. It works from within an Orbiter to turn the MD on. However, if I send a Command On to the that orbiter, it does not get turned on.

The MD is a Compaq Notebook seemingly turned on by a Wake-On-Lan or Magic Packet.

Anyone has any insight as to how to turn on that device with a command?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Regards

Oliver
Not sure if this is the solution, but sometimes it's important from who and to whom message is send. I'd first check exactly what the command that works looks like in logs. IMHO, sending ON to Orbiter is not enough, maybe you need to send it to MD...

HTH,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2008, 03:12:57 pm »
The power feature works just fine on the MDs that allow WOL- I can just go to "Power" after selecting which MD I want to control from an orbiter and hit the "Power ON MD" button.  I haven't figured out how to power off a MD from another MD- but it works great from any orbiter.  Trying to power off another MD causes the one I'm using to turn off.

But the feature I'm trying to disable is the magic packet being sent when the core starts.  Certainly not worth a lot of time investigating at this point with 810 around the corner.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 03:47:26 pm »
The power feature works just fine on the MDs that allow WOL- I can just go to "Power" after selecting which MD I want to control from an orbiter and hit the "Power ON MD" button.  I haven't figured out how to power off a MD from another MD- but it works great from any orbiter.  Trying to power off another MD causes the one I'm using to turn off.

change the room :-)
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2008, 05:21:24 pm »
The power feature works just fine on the MDs that allow WOL- I can just go to "Power" after selecting which MD I want to control from an orbiter and hit the "Power ON MD" button.  I haven't figured out how to power off a MD from another MD- but it works great from any orbiter.  Trying to power off another MD causes the one I'm using to turn off.

change the room :-)
I think I have noticed that too, changing the room didn't work, I'm affraid it could be a bug.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2008, 07:06:48 pm »
The power feature works just fine on the MDs that allow WOL- I can just go to "Power" after selecting which MD I want to control from an orbiter and hit the "Power ON MD" button.  I haven't figured out how to power off a MD from another MD- but it works great from any orbiter.  Trying to power off another MD causes the one I'm using to turn off.

change the room :-)
I think I have noticed that too, changing the room didn't work, I'm affraid it could be a bug.
Same happened to me. I also change room, but also my core powers off - but not always - didn't get the pattern yet....

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

jimbodude

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2008, 02:47:28 am »
You cannot send the "On" command to the MD when it's off - the message will not be delivered because the MD device isn't online.  Try the "Wake Device" command in the General Info Plug-In.  Supply the MD's device number as the argument.  (This is what is done by the "Power On" button in the orbiter.)

jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2008, 06:11:33 am »
I can wake a number of my MDs from a completely off state by LMCE sending a magic packet (think that's what it's called).  The NIC listens for the call and fires up the MD.

For whatever reason, controlling the state of one MD from another MD sometimes causes the 1st md (or the core) to respond to the signal rather than the intended MD.  I've only noticed this when trying to turn off a device, I think when turning the device on the core or the sending MD is already powered on and ignores the call- that's my guess.  At this point, for me, it's not worth investigating- still working on the recipes module.  :)  I'm and ME that sells HVAC equip- so learning as I go.  Although, I will note for the record, that I did have a Pascal class in HS and I did successfully tell the world Hello, or at least myself and my teacher.

daballiemo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
  • Full Blown Addict
    • View Profile
Re: Send Command Turn On to MD
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2008, 06:53:52 pm »
I have seen the behaviour as well. My web orbiter is standard using the core/hybrid. When I use this orbiter to switch room and then switch off the concerning MD, I sometimes get into the situation where the core switches off pffff

The on works brilliant btw

The power feature works just fine on the MDs that allow WOL- I can just go to "Power" after selecting which MD I want to control from an orbiter and hit the "Power ON MD" button.  I haven't figured out how to power off a MD from another MD- but it works great from any orbiter.  Trying to power off another MD causes the one I'm using to turn off.

change the room :-)
I think I have noticed that too, changing the room didn't work, I'm affraid it could be a bug.
HP N40L12.04 KVM with virt LCME8.10/10.04
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - Samsung LE 26 (1360* 768)
MD: M2NPV-VM dual core AMD 64/3800/2Gb/NV6150 - Samsung UE 55 C8700 (full hd, 3d)
MD: FoxConn NetBox 330I - LG 32ld350