Author Topic: dcerouter login: unable to access - FIXED  (Read 2698 times)

marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
dcerouter login: unable to access - FIXED
« on: December 18, 2007, 08:29:54 am »
Hello.

ctrl-alt-F1 at the dcerouter login:

How do you login at this prompt.  Nothing I try seems to work

Regards...Martin
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 05:08:04 pm by marrandy »

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: dcerouter login: unable to access
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2007, 08:47:48 am »
FYI, it's in the forums, been answered many times before...

If you installed off DVD, username and password are BOTH linuxmce (all lowercase)

HTH,

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: dcerouter login: unable to access - FIXED
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2007, 05:07:28 pm »
Hello.

ctrl-alt-F1 at the dcerouter login:

How do you login at this prompt.  Nothing I try seems to work

Regards...Martin


My fault.  I should have explained in detail what  "Nothing I try seems to work"  means.  I have tried everything I have found in searches of the forum.

I can login through the webadmin fine.  I can open a shell and sudo to root ok.

But at the  "ctrl-alt-F1 at the dcerouter login:"  if I try:-

user=linuxmce, pass=linuxmce - dosn't work
user=the first users name, pass=mypass - doesn't work
user=root, pass=root - doesn't work
=user=root, pass=nothing/empty - doesn't work

"If you installed off DVD, username and password are BOTH linuxmce (all lowercase)"  - hmm...this is a fiire engine.  I haven't got  a response yet whether they changed this - OK - fixed on talking to them - I changed it myself from root

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: dcerouter login: unable to access - FIXED
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2007, 05:44:21 pm »
That log in doesn't work on the client boxes. The best way to get into those is to log into the core either through Putty or locally, switch to root (sudo su) and ssh into the client box (ssh 192.168.80.X). This is how I did it to change the xorg.conf on the MD.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: dcerouter login: unable to access - FIXED
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2007, 06:40:33 pm »
You can also edit the files like xorg.conf of a diskless MD on the core, they can be found under /usr/pluto/diskless<device-number-of-MD>/.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: dcerouter login: unable to access - FIXED
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2007, 07:11:41 pm »
It was on the core/fiire engine.

As per the updated subject - its fixed