Author Topic: Will beryl or compiz break LMCE? (see bottom of thread)  (Read 3362 times)

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Will beryl or compiz break LMCE? (see bottom of thread)
« on: December 15, 2007, 06:57:39 am »
Anyone else experience this?  Is it the flkr photostream?  Is there anyway to turn that off so I can see if the net speed picks up?
« Last Edit: December 17, 2007, 08:21:29 pm by hoboghost »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2007, 08:50:55 am »
Anyone else experience this?  Is it the flkr photostream?  Is there anyway to turn that off so I can see if the net speed picks up?

We have never seen that here. The only real moment flickr.pl could affect you is during the period when it is actually downloading its images... but that typically will be for at most a few minutes per day... and even then in our experience there is no noticeable affect on the internal network at all.

So I would 100% suggest that your problem is not flickr.pl related at all.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2007, 08:59:01 am »
it could be that updates are coming down to you..
Give it a few hours, and see if it stops eating your bandwidth...
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2007, 09:18:21 am »
must have been updates.  Internet is working fine now.  Thanks.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2007, 09:45:02 am »
Glad to hear your back up to speed...

It's a catch-22 situation... you want the latest, but also want internet.... lol
What speed is your connection?  I'm on a 10Mb down / 1Mb up, and don't really notice any speed differences....
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2007, 10:02:04 am »
My dsl is giving me 715kbs down and 115kbs up. 

Hey another question :)  I'm new to this (Linuxmce/kubuntu and linux in general); just got it to work (getting wireless to work on my airpace wlp-01 card was a real challenge).  Normally kubuntu would have the adept package manager right?  Has it been removed to protect linuxmce?  Is there a add/remove program manager like adept, and If I download packages will it break LMCE?  Sorry if this has been answered dozens of times already.

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2007, 10:05:23 am »
ok so i searched the forum and found the answer.  So if adept will break LMCE, is there a list of safe programs we can add?  I want to give this some gaming capability and add gimp.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2007, 12:31:02 pm »
You'd have to check the dependancies.. but if LMCE's dependancies are ok for the app you want to install, I don't think you'll have a problem.
You'll have to install it manually... or possibly with aptitude...
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2007, 01:07:39 pm »
Hmm. sounds over my head.   I'm not sure how to do that.
I'd like to install beryl and wine.  How do i check dependencies--what does that mean? :) sorry I am newb.  I'll google.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2007, 07:56:41 pm »
for the record, I am working on a MAME plugin for LinuxMCE. it's currently being worked on/discussed in the developers forum.

-Thom

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Linuxmce slowing down internet for all computers on network
« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2007, 10:41:06 pm »
for the record, I am working on a MAME plugin for LinuxMCE. it's currently being worked on/discussed in the developers forum.

-Thom


Very Cool!

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: [Resolved] Linuxmce slowing down inter---nah, it's fine.
« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2007, 12:02:19 am »
Beryl (and Compiz) will NOT work, that's for gnome (afaik) .. and it will fight with the MD.
Wine, I'm not sure...
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

hoboghost

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Will beryl or compiz break LMCE? (see bottom of thread)
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2007, 08:21:04 pm »
Beryl (and Compiz) will NOT work, that's for gnome (afaik) .. and it will fight with the MD.
Wine, I'm not sure...

I've seen it on kubutnu, so it is possible.
http://packages.ubuntu.com/feisty/x11/beryl-kubuntu
But you are saying it will fight the media director?  What if I only have one core/hybrid and no MDs?

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Will beryl or compiz break LMCE? (see bottom of thread)
« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2007, 08:48:22 pm »
When you install a hybrid, the core IS the first MD.  Problem is that (afaik) both beryl (compiz) and the MD require access to the GPU hardware acceleration..
I remember this was an issue in 1.0 when it was based on gnome.. back then, it was GDM and the MD fighting...

HTH

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

dopey

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
Re: Will beryl or compiz break LMCE? (see bottom of thread)
« Reply #14 on: December 18, 2007, 06:55:27 am »
Compiz is not just for Gnome, many people run it in KDE as well. Granted there are Gnome elements in it, but some are actually being stripped out.. and it really doesn't matter what libraries an app uses...

The problem, as you stated, is that Compiz requires 3d acceleration that can compete with other 3D things... of course that's rare and with Compiz-Fusion 0.6 it's actually very stable and can work with other GL apps nicely (it's been running for 2 weeks straight on my Gentoo box)... and when it doesn't you can set Compiz to turn off compositing for that app.

The bigger problem is that the new design of the MD UI will shift allot of the alpha-blending stuff to the new KDE WM, as stated by Paul... this will effectively kill all other WM options for LinuxMCE... this shift i all heartedly disagree with...

Edit: I forgot to mention that I did install Cedega and Crossover Office (two Wine variants) on my Core and they worked just fine.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 07:00:22 am by dopey »