Author Topic: Interest in Supporting Internet TV Services like Miro  (Read 6376 times)

dadwkids

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Interest in Supporting Internet TV Services like Miro
« on: November 23, 2007, 02:30:46 pm »
Hi - I am new to linuxmce and am starting to learn more about it.  Before I found Linuxmce I came across an interesting approach to Internet TV: Miro (http://www.getmiro.com/). 

I'm not quite sure what the long term strategy is for Linuxmce (is it meant to replace DVD players, cable boxes, my alarm system box, all of the above) but I thought an interesting strategy would be to support some form of Internet TV.  This would differentiate LinuxMCE from all the other things I've seen because it could do all the things it does now and provide a platform to watch Internet TV on my big screen. 

(I'm not a developer so I can't do this myself :)

rafik24

• Guru
    • View Profile
Re: Interest in Supporting Internet TV Services like Miro
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2007, 04:01:26 pm »
 Hi dadwkids,

I guess this could be added as a plugin in lmce, someone is working on an xmame plugin and he might be able
to give the steps to add new plugins windows etc.

I'm looking to add skype as a plugin and i hope not to get throught the traditionnal reverse engineering
path cause i've done it few times, let me tell you that it consumes an awful amount of time but there a lot to learn

Good luck,

Rafik

tschak909

• LinuxMCE God
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2007, 06:41:33 pm »
the media view has a concept of tagging files as "Downloaded from the net" ..

A set of Designer views would have to be created for all of the orbiters.... then a new Media Scenario could be created to start pointing to custom screens and code... but i'm wondering what kind of plugin this would be... probably, it would just be something hanging off the DCERouter, shipping displays to datagrids on a screen.