Author Topic: Athlon XP 1500+ palomino + 1GB ram + MSI MS-6330 MB: Enough for Core... or MD?  (Read 8828 times)

desmarch

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
I want to test LMCE as it looks great on paper. However I am a Linux newbie and I want to use my old system. (see title)
I am not sure how best to use it.

For a MD, it could be OK with the right graphic card... but for network booting. Actually, i'm not sure about the point of going diskless. Fine for new MBs (provided we never shut the MD down not to loose too much time booting) but bad for old ones or old laptops (I want to use my old one in the kitchen to watch news, listen to radio or read emails). I hope regular HD booting will be available pretty soon. (I have an old 4GB HD to use!)

For the core, I am not sure. the problem, if I understand well, is with video encoding. Is all encoding made on the core? What about if one has a good tuner card with hardwired encoding? This should limit the load on the CPU.

I will be happy to hear any advice on those.

Thanks

darrenmason

• Addicted
    • View Profile
Hi,

MDs can boot off the HD now, but what makes you think that booting from the network is slower or a problem? Unless someone told you the machine was network booting then I doubt you would be able to even tell - at least in terms of performance.

I believe that MythTV has support for using hardware encoding when recording, someone else may be able to add more.

Your best bet is to just try it all out - and see how it goes. If you are just testing then create a hybrid system and try it out.

regards
Darren

Hagen

• Guru
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Network booting is very slow the first time (install), and the second time (configuration).
After that it's not much slower than booting from the HDD

LabVIEW_guy

• First post!
    • View Profile
Hi,
I have a vaguely related question: