Author Topic: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work  (Read 1861 times)

ojthejuice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
will the ir sender and reciever that a came with a windows mce machine  work with linux mce

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2007, 08:41:52 am »
It worked for me until I put in a GeForce card (for some reason), but you might want to wait for the 0710 release where it's supposed to be better supported.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2007, 10:16:42 am »
It worked for me until I put in a GeForce card (for some reason), but you might want to wait for the 0710 release where it's supposed to be better supported.

An mce IR transceiver is auto-detected and added to a MD under 0704... but using the blasting features is not. Under 0710 the blasting capability should be enabled ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2007, 01:31:34 pm »
it stopped working for me once I switched from integrated video to the GeForce,
Tried reinstalling, no go.
Reinstalled againg without the GeForce and voila, it worked like a charm (again).
Did yet another reinstall with the GeForce card... no go (again).
I thought the 710 release would include new drivers, so I pulled the bug report in the Mantis...
hmmm



totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2007, 01:57:07 pm »
it stopped working for me once I switched from integrated video to the GeForce,
Tried reinstalling, no go.
Reinstalled againg without the GeForce and voila, it worked like a charm (again).
Did yet another reinstall with the GeForce card... no go (again).
I thought the 710 release would include new drivers, so I pulled the bug report in the Mantis...
hmmm

Which card were you using when this happened?
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2007, 02:51:26 pm »
This card
Asus VGA-Card nVidia GF7200GS 128MB(512) PCI-E DVI HDTV Heatsink Retail     
The cheapest I could find, the WAF isn't very high in the household.
 
I did the install on a
HP Compaq dx6100 Microtower PC
Intel chipset, I think ATI graphix, it could only do UI1

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2007, 04:08:33 pm »
This is not a developer question and does not belong in this forum.  Please post in the apropriate places.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2007, 05:39:29 pm »
This card
Asus VGA-Card nVidia GF7200GS 128MB(512) PCI-E DVI HDTV Heatsink Retail     
The cheapest I could find, the WAF isn't very high in the household.
 
I did the install on a
HP Compaq dx6100 Microtower PC
Intel chipset, I think ATI graphix, it could only do UI1

I would suggest that you mantis that problem. I will check tomorrow if i have a similar 7200 card to see if i can reproduce the problem.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

bmk789

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Confessions of a Teenage Treehugger
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2007, 09:35:33 pm »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2007, 09:58:34 pm »
Maybe this will give some more info

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Windows_MCE_Remote

Hmmm... not really much help in this case. As the problem is that the mce remote fails when the 7200 is installed... and then works again if its uninstalled. Weird.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: will the ir sender and reciever that came with a windows mce work
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2007, 10:11:47 pm »
I suspected an IRQ issue myself, but after playing with the IRQs in the bios the MCE remote still wouldn't work.
I must add that I have next to no experience with Linux, and I did not check if it worked for any programs on the KDE desktop (like Amarok)

I am adding a new report to the mantis now, as I can't find the old one.