Author Topic: Network help.  (Read 3798 times)

morrorless

• View Profile
Network help.
« on: November 25, 2007, 08:23:33 pm »
I need some help with my network setup as I am new to Linux. I want to run 2 seperate internal networks. 1 for LinuxMCE and the other for my computers. I would like for the computers to be able to network boot from the core on the other internal network. I thought I could set it up like this, DSL modem to router then split to the computer network and the Linux MCE network. I would to be able to share files between networks. Is this possible, and if so how could I do this? I have attached a diagram of how I would like this setup.

cyprus_dude

• View Profile
Re: Network help.
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2007, 08:58:34 pm »
internet-modem-LinuxMCE-switch- pc's/MD's

unless you want the router, in which case disable the DHCP server on the router and you can place it in between the switch and LinuxMCE (core) or after switch (i can see you wanting this only if you have a wireless router and want wireless)

teedge77

• Addicted
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2007, 09:43:56 pm »
if you want everyone to share files why do you even want two separate networks?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

morrorless

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2007, 02:03:28 am »