Author Topic: Can't add media to MCE!!!  (Read 1401 times)

porkman

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Can't add media to MCE!!!
« on: August 27, 2007, 01:20:28 am »
I must be missing something here because I can't add music or video files to the MCE computer.  I inserted a cd and it ripped it just find.  But I can't add any media to the public/data/audio folder.  I keep getting a access denied error. 

AK83

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2007, 11:43:48 am »
I have the same problem. I can't copy any files to the folders. Could someone help?
Thanks.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2007, 12:39:39 pm »
I must be missing something here because I can't add music or video files to the MCE computer.  I inserted a cd and it ripped it just find.  But I can't add any media to the public/data/audio folder.  I keep getting a access denied error. 

You need to provide more details of what you are doing. I assume that you are trying to copy media from a desktop machine to your Core's /home/public/data/audio directory in which case you need to access the share from your desktop machine and use a valid username/password. A valid username/password would be one created when you installed the system (not the root user) ie an lmce 'User'

Hope this helps
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

AK83

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2007, 05:38:23 pm »
Hi!

I tried to copy some files/folders from an USB-device (FAT) to /home/public/data/audio but didn't have access.
Using the Terminal (sudo cp -r ...) is no problem, but I can't copy & paste the stuff.

So I'm sitting at my Core (hybrid) trying to get my media onto it (not over the network).
« Last Edit: November 22, 2007, 05:39:57 pm by AK83 »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2007, 05:55:20 pm »
Hi!

I tried to copy some files/folders from an USB-device (FAT) to /home/public/data/audio but didn't have access.
Using the Terminal (sudo cp -r ...) is no problem, but I can't copy & paste the stuff.

So I'm sitting at my Core (hybrid) trying to get my media onto it (not over the network).

So when you tried to copy from the USB drive to /home/public/data/audio you were doing that directly at your Core from the KDE desktop I assume then. If you can't copy from the usb device to /home/public/data/audio it must be a permissions problem. Make sure that you have adequate permissions to copy the files.

Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2007, 07:23:19 pm »
I think that is a permission problem as well.  One solution might be to add the user you are normally logged in with to the "public" group.

To find out exactly which user you are logged in with (from a terminal: K > System > Konsole):
Code: [Select]
whoami

For the DVD installer this will likely be linuxmce, for the CD install it will probably be the user you created during the kubuntu install.

Then edit /etc/group (you can use any editor besides "kate" if you like):
Code: [Select]
sudo kate /etc/group

And change this line:
public:x:1002:mythtv,pluto_user1,pluto_user2,pluto_userX

To include the username you found earlier in the previous step, for example linuxmce:
public:x:1002:mythtv,pluto_user1,pluto_user2,pluto_userX,linuxmce

Now you should be allowed to copy files to the directories under /home/public/data/.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


AK83

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2007, 02:37:55 pm »
Yes, it was a permission problem. Thank you!

What also worked for me was open up Konqueror with administrative rights (kdesu konqueror). I can copy and paste the files. It works. But I always have strange error messages in the Terminal when opening up Konqueror as I described.

An example:

In the Terminal:
user: ~$ kdesu konqueror
Then Konqueror opens up the way I want but in the Terminal I get this:
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 180
   Major opcode: 150
   Minor opcode: 3
   Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 180
   Major opcode: 150
   Minor opcode: 3
   Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
kdesu (kdelibs): WARNING: No X authentication info set for display :0.0
kdesu (kdelibs): WARNING: No X authentication info set for display :0.0
kdesu (kdelibs): WARNING: No X authentication info set for display :0.0
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 180
   Major opcode: 150
   Minor opcode: 3
   Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device
X Error: BadDevice, invalid or uninitialized input device 180
   Major opcode: 150
   Minor opcode: 3
   Resource id: 0x0
Failed to open device

Any ideas?

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2007, 03:17:31 pm »
Sure, try not running konqueror with administrative rights. ;)  It was obviously not intended to be run this way and you can seriously damage your system by accident if you do.

EDIT:

When copying it is also likely to create files owned by the administrator which will probably create further permission problems lateron.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2007, 03:19:30 pm by Zaerc »
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


AK83

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Can't add media to MCE!!!
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2007, 11:40:10 am »
Zaerc, thanks for your help!
This was what I was looking for. I changed /etc/group -> public:x:1002:... and now I'm able to copy and paste my media to all the "public folders".