Author Topic: Seeing Computers on Internal Network  (Read 763 times)

solero10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Seeing Computers on Internal Network
« on: November 26, 2007, 05:49:13 am »
On the Core, is there any web interface or command line tool to see all the computer names and IP addresses of all the computers on the internal network? 

I am not sure, maybe this is really a Kubuntu question.  Now that the Core is acting as the router for the internal network, it would sure be helpful to be able to see all the machines with their IP addresses in one place.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Seeing Computers on Internal Network
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2007, 03:50:11 pm »
probably not exactly what you're looking for but these might help:
Code: [Select]
arp -D -n | grep -v incomplete

This one will probably ask for a password, just hit enter:
Code: [Select]
smbclient -L dcerouter
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


johnnylinux

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Seeing Computers on Internal Network
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2007, 10:27:58 pm »
You can install an application like nmap, located at newbielink:http://insecure.org/nmap/ [nonactive]. This can be installed on the server if you wish and run from the command line. Probably will give you more than you need but what the heck.

Not sure what your network consists of but if you have any Windoze boxes on there you can also use similar apps installed on one; something like AngryIP will do the trick.

In most cases you simply need to supply the IP range you want to scan and you'll get a report of connected hosts.

solero10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Seeing Computers on Internal Network
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2007, 05:50:46 am »
Wow, thanks so much for the great choices!

For now, I am just looking for a way to see if windows machines and other appliances (like Lingo and Belkin Network USB hub) are getting the new IP address from the Core when I switch them all to the Core's DHCP. 

Thanks so much.