Author Topic: Install on RAID 5  (Read 748 times)

scorpuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Install on RAID 5
« on: November 21, 2007, 01:53:05 pm »
I currently have 6 HDD's setup as RAID1 (100Mb Boot), RAID1 (10Gb Swap) and RAID5 (root partition with 2.2TB).

When I install LinuxMCE will I be able to reinstall ontop of this software RAID or will I need to get the alternative Kubuntu disk and setup software RAID again?


I will remove 1 of the drives to backup my current recordings from MythTV, approx 450Gb. This will also drop me below the 2Tb limit of 32bit. How do I then add these recordings to the LinuxMCE core?

jca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Install on RAID 5
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 04:43:11 pm »
Using mdadm and lvm2 I assume? I'd go with Kubuntu alternative.

scorpuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Install on RAID 5
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2007, 06:39:35 pm »
I presume its mdadm.

When I installed ubuntu on the server I used the alternate disk and setup the raid partitions through that. And that was a long boring job to do.


To check it i can

Code: [Select]
cat /proc/mdstat

So I can install with alternative kubuntu and then the 2 disc install!


After installation and, presuming it works  ;), how do I add my current MythTV recordings that I backed up to the disk?