Author Topic: Tv cards  (Read 1490 times)

kalios

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Tv cards
« on: November 21, 2007, 12:32:20 am »
I amin New Zealand and NZ Freeview operates on 2 different Frequencies or so I am told, i am in the process of setting up a Tv server
but with TV cards on discussion.
I have a Hauppauge WinTV HVR3000 Hybrid TV Card and and a Hauppauge WinTV-HVR4000 HD Quad Mode TV Receiver, are these supported by Linux MCE? I am also following a setup guide from http://mcraenz.googlepages.com/mppvr for one dish install :)

Thanks

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Tv cards
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 02:26:19 pm »
I amin New Zealand and NZ Freeview operates on 2 different Frequencies or so I am told, i am in the process of setting up a Tv server
but with TV cards on discussion.
I have a Hauppauge WinTV HVR3000 Hybrid TV Card and and a Hauppauge WinTV-HVR4000 HD Quad Mode TV Receiver, are these supported by Linux MCE? I am also following a setup guide from http://mcraenz.googlepages.com/mppvr for one dish install :)

Thanks

I don't think lmce will autodetect & install those cards... although I could be wrong about that as we have never tested them.

The Avermedia 771 card & the Nova T500 (dual tuner DVB-T) cards work fine.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
    • View Profile
Re: Tv cards
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2007, 03:20:03 pm »
I own a HVR4000 myself, and it is not detected by the kernel used in LinuxMCE. The HVR3000 will probably be detected, but I am not sure if it works. See http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-3000 and http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000 for more information about the status of these drivers.

I have been able to get something from the DVB-T part of the 4000 by using the 3000 drivers, but because of the codec issue (see below), I am not sure if it works, though.

Also, if you are trying to receive DVB-T, I have seen some mentioning about the encoding used in NZ not being supported by mediaplayers (yet). (As here in Norway, NZ uses h264 with PAFF encoding, or something like that, whatever that means...  ??? )

See http://www.mythtv.co.nz/mythtv/ for more information about DVB-T in NZ.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Tv cards
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2007, 03:44:17 pm »
I own a HVR4000 myself, and it is not detected by the kernel used in LinuxMCE. The HVR3000 will probably be detected, but I am not sure if it works. See http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-3000 and http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-4000 for more information about the status of these drivers.

I have been able to get something from the DVB-T part of the 4000 by using the 3000 drivers, but because of the codec issue (see below), I am not sure if it works, though.

Also, if you are trying to receive DVB-T, I have seen some mentioning about the encoding used in NZ not being supported by mediaplayers (yet). (As here in Norway, NZ uses h264 with PAFF encoding, or something like that, whatever that means...  ??? )

See http://www.mythtv.co.nz/mythtv/ for more information about DVB-T in NZ.


Thanks Sambuca for pointing out that Freeview in NZ is based on H264

This poses some problems... I'm pretty certain that the Myth that ships with lmce-0704 will not work "out of the box" with DVB-T trasnmissions in H264 (I might be wrong about that though).

We are working with the lmce-0710 Dev team to add VDR to 0710 as we speak but as it stands VDR does not support H264 encoding without the use of a plugin and that plugin will not be in the initial 0710 release. Its possible that is could be added later but I cant say how soon that would be at present.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
    • View Profile
Re: Tv cards
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2007, 04:17:51 pm »

This poses some problems... I'm pretty certain that the Myth that ships with lmce-0704 will not work "out of the box" with DVB-T trasnmissions in H264 (I might be wrong about that though).

We are working with the lmce-0710 Dev team to add VDR to 0710 as we speak but as it stands VDR does not support H264 encoding without the use of a plugin and that plugin will not be in the initial 0710 release. Its possible that is could be added later but I cant say how soon that would be at present.

This is my understanding also. When I tested DVB-T, I did not use MythTV (had some problems with identifying the HVR-4000 card, but it was some time ago so I don't remember exactly...). (I used the dvb-utils programs: dvbscan, dvbsnoop, dvbstream)

Part of the problem is that the h264 is not identified in the received stream as a video stream, instead it is marked as "other" (I'm located in Norway, don't know if this is true for NZ). So the scan utility does not correctly identify the streams carrying the video(or the audio for that matter). I suppose MythTV/VDR/other tools might be the same. To get anything at all, I had to manually find the correct stream PID's and add them to the tzap/channes.conf file.