Author Topic: Use Wireless MD's  (Read 1154 times)

rafik24

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Use Wireless MD's
« on: November 18, 2007, 02:55:20 pm »
  Hi All,

 I installed and md and got it working with wireless so far so good.
I think that using wireless might have it's limitations in term of bandwidth but with the use
i'm making of it, it seem stable. I'm willing to do this because i see it as a great saling
argument compared to other solution. the goal is to plug a single plug in the 220v socket and it's done.
(i hate cabling specially when it's not my own house)

 I remember seeing a "wireless checkbox" in pluto md section but that seem to have disappeared ?

 The only issue that i have seen so far is when i restart the core, the wireless MD get rebooted but it is faster then the core in rebooting. it runs waitnfs.sh then timeout and stays in a kind of unknown stated for a while even after the core is fully up (it's a real mare when the core is updating and so).

 So i'm willing to write a script to wait untill the core is fully available.

 I tough of using MessageSend but i'm not really knowing wich args params to use nor what i'm looking for.

 So i told myself that i could use the sql db to query the state of the core.

 Would anyone know what i should query to ensure that the core is up and finished loading devices (MD_ON ??).

 Any help would be greatly appreciated,

 Regards,

Rafik
« Last Edit: November 18, 2007, 02:59:27 pm by rafik24 »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Use Wireless MD's
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 04:52:03 pm »
  Hi All,

 I installed and md and got it working with wireless so far so good.
I think that using wireless might have it's limitations in term of bandwidth but with the use
i'm making of it, it seem stable. I'm willing to do this because i see it as a great saling
argument compared to other solution. the goal is to plug a single plug in the 220v socket and it's done.
(i hate cabling specially when it's not my own house)

 I remember seeing a "wireless checkbox" in pluto md section but that seem to have disappeared ?

 The only issue that i have seen so far is when i restart the core, the wireless MD get rebooted but it is faster then the core in rebooting. it runs waitnfs.sh then timeout and stays in a kind of unknown stated for a while even after the core is fully up (it's a real mare when the core is updating and so).

 So i'm willing to write a script to wait untill the core is fully available.

 I tough of using MessageSend but i'm not really knowing wich args params to use nor what i'm looking for.

 So i told myself that i could use the sql db to query the state of the core.

 Would anyone know what i should query to ensure that the core is up and finished loading devices (MD_ON ??).

 Any help would be greatly appreciated,

 Regards,

Rafik

MD work wireless now. Its just that most wireless cards do not support pxe boot. Yes you might suffer some performance hits but as long as you accept that there is no problem.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Use Wireless MD's
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2007, 07:35:32 am »
(A wireless core on the other hand  ;D)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Use Wireless MD's
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2007, 10:27:47 am »
(A wireless core on the other hand  ;D)

Well... Hmmm... using wireless for the WAN side connection I am sure is doable. Again it just comes down to acceptable reliability and performance ;-)

Its not something we have tested or spent any time researching though.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Use Wireless MD's
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2007, 10:32:12 am »
You don't have to either, I have and reliability 'sucks'... at best...
 ;D

rafik24

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Use Wireless MD's
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2007, 04:12:41 pm »
 Hi all,

 My core is connected RJ45 / 100MB/FD and i have 3 MD's, so far i did not notice much difference between
wireless and when they are hardwired. I can play livetv on the 3 MD's simultaneously rip dvd's and what have you. i have not tried HDTV which uses more bandwidth.

 I admit i had to tweak around to get the best bandwidth ( forcing FD and messing around with modules parameters) but it works happilly.

 To come back to the question i asked yesterday, i wrote a bash script that allows me to check whether the core/hybrid is up and finished loading the orbiter.

/etc/init.d/wait_for_dcerouter.sh

####################
!/bin/bash
#set -x
DCEROUTER=192.168.80.1
SQL_FILE="/usr/pluto/bin/wait_for_dcerouter.sql"

echo "Checking if DCERouter is UP "
while  [ "`mysql -h $DCEROUTER  pluto_main < $SQL_FILE  | grep "MD_ON" 2>/dev/null 1>/dev/null ; echo $?`" = "1" ] ; do
        echo -n "."
        sleep 1
   done
##############

/usr/pluto/bin/wait_for_dcerouter.sql

SELECT * FROM `pluto_main`.`Device` WHERE `Status` = "MD_ON" AND `Description` = "The core/hybrid"

##############

  The main purpose for using wifi is that it's not easy to deploy the solution having to wire all over the place,
i'm not saying wifi will do the job, but it helps not digging up walls here and there.

 I'll also try to use nic bonding using two wifi cards in order to see if i can double the bandwidth to get sort of more reliable.

 Rafik