Author Topic: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.  (Read 3688 times)

tigerdyr007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« on: November 13, 2007, 10:59:29 pm »
Im complet new linux user. I say the video about linuxmce, which look really good. I want to convert my windows media center to a linuxmce. The installation went out fine. But i cant get my tv/tuner to work. In the Preface to the video documentention it says aften inserting the tvtuner in the pc it will recognize the card automatic, but nothing happend when i start my computer up and when i try to find it under Provder nothing is displayed.

Can anyone help me to get it to work?

Is it a driver i need?

Hope someone can help me.

Dont hope i have to buy a new Tvtuner to make it work.

Thank for your help.

Tigerdyr007

nosilla99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2007, 10:38:05 am »
Using the same tuner here, but if I remember correctly the /etc/init.d/dvb script was not being run automatically at boot so the dvb drivers were not loaded.

check dmesg at a console and verify that the card is identified

If your card has been identified correctly then you need to check and see if the DVB frontend is loaded, again dmesg should show an entry for this, a quick way of checking if the frontend is loaded is to look for the following directory /dev/dvb/adaptor0  if it is present then LMCE has loaded the frontend drivers for a DVB card.

NOS

tigerdyr007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2007, 11:10:27 pm »
Hi Nos

Thanks for the fast answer.

i have looked in the dmesg log and it seems to be listed.

I have pasted it into the botton of this mail.

I could not find the /dev/dvb folder. so maybe it not correct started.

I went in to the kde info clicked on pci and here is some info

0a:0c.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant cx23880/1/2/3 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 05)

Subsystem: Hauppauge computer works Inc. Unknown device 9600
flags: bus master, medium devsel latency 165, IRQ 21
Memory at d20000000 (32-bit, non prefetchable) [size 16m]
capabilities: <access denied>

i have to more like this one. One for Audio, and one for Mpeg port

Hope you can figure out whats wrong


dmesg

 0.535380] PCI: Using ACPI for IRQ routing
[    0.535384] PCI: If a device doesn't work, try "pci=routeirq".  If it helps, post a report
[    0.535389] PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 7 of bridge 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.535391] PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 8 of bridge 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.535393] PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 9 of bridge 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.551576] NET: Registered protocol family 8
[    0.551579] NET: Registered protocol family 20
[    0.554094] PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #6:20000@d0000000 for 0000:01:00.0
[    0.554135] PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:01.0
[    0.554138]   IO window: 4000-4fff
[    0.554143]   MEM window: d0000000-d1ffffff
[    0.554147]   PREFETCH window: c0000000-cfffffff
[   14.049683] shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
[   14.466722] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[   14.478461] Linux agpgart interface v0.102 (c) Dave Jones
[   14.483460] agpgart: Detected an Intel 945G Chipset.
[   14.500365] agpgart: AGP aperture is 256M @ 0x0
[   14.641140] input: PC Speaker as /class/input/input2
[   14.780898] intel_rng: FWH not detected
[   14.847423] Linux video capture interface: v2.00
[   14.995024] cx2388x v4l2 driver version 0.0.6 loaded
[   14.995099] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:0a:0c.0[A] -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[   14.995161] CORE cx88[0]: subsystem: 0070:9600, board: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR1300 DVB-T/Hybrid MPEG Encoder [card=56,autodetected]
[   14.995166] TV tuner 63 at 0x1fe, Radio tuner -1 at 0x1fe
[   15.009967] cx2388x cx88-mpeg Driver Manager version 0.0.6 loaded
[   15.025039] iTCO_vendor_support: vendor-support=0
[   15.026632] iTCO_wdt: Intel TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v1.01 (11-Nov-2006)
[   15.047324] parport: PnPBIOS parport detected.
[   15.047412] parport0: PC-style at 0x378 (0x778), irq 7, dma 1 [PCSPP,TRISTATE,COMPAT,ECP,DMA]
[   15.166875] tveeprom 0-0050: Hauppauge model 96559, rev C5A0, serial# 1221779
[   15.166882] tveeprom 0-0050: MAC address is 00-0D-FE-12-A4-93
[   15.166887] tveeprom 0-0050: tuner model is Philips FMD1216ME (idx 100, type 63)
[   15.166892] tveeprom 0-0050: TV standards PAL(B/G) PAL(I) SECAM(L/L') PAL(D/D1/K) ATSC/DVB Digital (eeprom 0xf4)
[   15.166897] tveeprom 0-0050: audio processor is CX882 (idx 33)
[   15.166900] tveeprom 0-0050: decoder processor is CX882 (idx 25)
[   15.166904] tveeprom 0-0050: has radio, has no IR receiver, has no IR transmitter
[   15.166908] cx88[0]: hauppauge eeprom: model=96559
[   15.167024] input: cx88 IR (Hauppauge WinTV-HVR130 as /class/input/input3
[   15.167077] cx88[0]/0: found at 0000:0a:0c.0, rev: 5, irq: 21, latency: 165, mmio: 0xd2000000
[   15.222983] tuner 0-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (cx88[0])
[   15.225953] tuner 0-0061: type set to 63 (Philips FMD1216ME MK3 Hybrid Tuner)
[   15.229101] tuner 0-0061: type set to 63 (Philips FMD1216ME MK3 Hybrid Tuner)
[   15.230286] tuner 0-0063: chip found @ 0xc6 (cx88[0])
[   15.253160] cx2388x alsa driver version 0.0.6 loaded
[   15.267686] wm8775 0-001b: chip found @ 0x36 (cx88[0])
[   15.276189] cx88[0]/0: registered device video0 [v4l2]
[   15.276242] cx88[0]/0: registered device vbi0
[   15.276290] cx88[0]/0: registered device radio0
[   15.288505] cx88[0]/2: cx2388x 8802 Driver Manager
[   15.288538] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:0a:0c.2[A] -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[   15.288555] cx88[0]/2: found at 0000:0a:0c.2, rev: 5, irq: 21, latency: 49, mmio: 0xd4000000
[   15.288607] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:0a:0c.1[A] -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
[   15.288643] cx88[0]/1: CX88x/0: ALSA support for cx2388x boards
[   15.398409] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1b.0[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[   15.398430] PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1b.0 to 64
[   15.484990] input: ImExPS/2 Logitech Wheel Mouse as /class/input/input4
[   15.488115] iTCO_wdt: Found a ICH7 or ICH7R TCO device (Version=2, TCOBASE=0x1060)
[   15.488161] iTCO_wdt: initialized. heartbeat=30 sec (nowayout=0)
[   15.748808] fuse init (API version 7.8)
[   15.757854] lp0: using parport0 (interrupt-driven).
[   15.802395] Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
[   15.811709] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (4073 buckets, 32584 max)
[   16.154440] Adding 1951952k swap on /dev/sda5.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:1951952k
[   16.266818] EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal

nosilla99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2007, 10:34:48 am »
Your ourput from dmesg shows that the card is identified correctly so the problem is that the dvb frontend drivers are not being loaded

Open a console screen and type the following

  sudo /sbin/modprobe cx88-dvb

This should register the the dvb card and create files in the following directory

  /dev/dvb/adaptor0

You should then be able to see the card in mythtv settings

NOS

tigerdyr007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2007, 04:40:23 pm »
Super i try that when i come home...

How can i see that the frontend is running?


And when i after trying you command go to mythtv to set the card up, is there some special things i have to select. I need to scan for Analog channels.

Thanks for your help....

/Tigerdyr007

nosilla99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2007, 08:26:31 pm »
Hi m8

If you have the directory /dev/dvb/adaptor0 present then the DVB frontend is running

Do you want to watch DVB-T tv channels or analog ?

If it is DVB-T such as freeview in the uk, when you add a new card under mythtv you need to select the card type as DVB DTV capture card.

NOS

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2007, 11:11:31 pm »
...
Open a console screen and type the following

  sudo /sbin/modprobe cx88-dvb
...

If that fixed the problem you can make it to load on boot permanently with the following command (or edit /etc/modules manually and add a line with cx88-dvb):
Code: [Select]
sudo echo 'cx88-dvb' >>/etc/modules

Sure would be nice if someone could add some information about this card to the wiki...
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Adding_your_own_hardware
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


nosilla99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2007, 12:08:39 am »
@Zaerc

I dont know anything about editing wiki pages and would hate to mess it up.

Is it possible to setup a wiki site on my hybrid so I can experiment first prior to making a mess on a public site ?

NOS

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2007, 01:27:09 am »
It's a lot easier then you think, there is no real damage you can do and it doesn't have to be anything fancy either.  Just use the preview button a couple of times until you're satisfied with the results.

You can just follow this link: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php?title=Hauppauge_HVR-1300-MCE&action=edit and start typing.  Add this to the top and Bob's your uncle:
Code: [Select]
[[Category: Hardware]]
[[Category: Video]]
[[Category: TV Cards]]

For some examples on markup you can see the "Editing help" link at the bottom.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


nosilla99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2007, 11:12:40 am »
It's a lot easier then you think, there is no real damage you can do and it doesn't have to be anything fancy either.  Just use the preview button a couple of times until you're satisfied with the results.

You can just follow this link: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php?title=Hauppauge_HVR-1300-MCE&action=edit and start typing.  Add this to the top and Bob's your uncle:
Code: [Select]
[[Category: Hardware]]
[[Category: Video]]
[[Category: TV Cards]]

For some examples on markup you can see the "Editing help" link at the bottom.


Thanks for the information, I have installed mediawiki on my hybrid so that I can try and get a better understanding before posting on the LMCE.  I will create some pages and upload them when I am happy with the results.

NOS

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2007, 01:06:16 pm »
Cool, that would be much appreciated.  I didn't think it would be that easy to install.  (And using the live wiki wouldn't really have hurt anyone.)
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


tigerdyr007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2007, 01:34:25 pm »
I tryed yesteday to start the dvb and it seems to work. after starting it i could see the folder /dev/dvb/adapter0.... But when i go to mce click tv it starts mythtv and now i cant get into the same config window as i did before. So i cant tune channels....

Everytime i start my lmce i get this error, maybe i has something to do with the problem.

[    0.413106] PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #6:20000@d0000000 for 0000:01:00.0


I read that it dont start automatically everytime i start lmce before i send it to /etc.

Maybe i restarted my mce because i also installed my nvidia 7300gt card and there for it stopped the server again, i forgot to check.

Under mythtv i choose utillities/Setup --> and before i could setup the tuner here is that correct.


Answer for your last reply NOS : Am only using Analog signal.


/tigerdyr007


dmes log
[    0.349694] Linux Plug and Play Support v0.97 (c) Adam Belay
[    0.349707] pnp: PnP ACPI init
[    0.394457] pnp: PnP ACPI: found 15 devices
[    0.394462] PnPBIOS: Disabled by ACPI PNP
[    0.394514] PCI: Using ACPI for IRQ routing
[    0.394517] PCI: If a device doesn't work, try "pci=routeirq".  If it helps, post a report
[    0.394523] PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 7 of bridge 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.394525] PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 8 of bridge 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.394528] PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 9 of bridge 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.410634] NET: Registered protocol family 8
[    0.410637] NET: Registered protocol family 20
[    0.413106] PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #6:20000@d0000000 for 0000:01:00.0
[    0.413148] PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:01.0
[    0.413151]   IO window: 4000-4fff
[    0.413156]   MEM window: d0000000-d1ffffff
[    0.413160]   PREFETCH window: c0000000-cfffffff
[    0.413164] PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:1c.0
[    0.413167]   IO window: 5000-5fff
[    0.413172]   MEM window: d5000000-d50fffff
[    0.413176]   PREFETCH window: disabled.
[    0.413181] PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:1c.1
[    0.413182]   IO window: disabled.
[    0.413187]   MEM window: disabled.
[    0.413191]   PREFETCH window: disabled.
[    0.413196] PCI: Bridge: 0000:00:1e.0
[    0.413197]   IO window: disabled.
[    0.413202]   MEM window: d2000000-d4ffffff
[    0.413206]   PREFETCH window: disabled.
[    0.413224] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:01.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2007, 03:46:55 pm »
I think you might be looking for "MythTV Setup" under "Computing".
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


tigerdyr007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2007, 01:59:16 am »
Hi.

After starting the modprobe cx88-dvb i am now able to scan for Digital channels.
And it looks good. and good sound.

Then i tryied to ad my analog recorder, but it dont find anything when i scan.

Do anyone have some help?

I still have the Pci fail as i discribed earlier. Hope someone can give me some helt with this.

Thanks

/Tigerdyr007

nosilla99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with my Hauppauge hvr 1300 mce tv tuner.
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2007, 05:22:59 am »
The current drivers will only allow you to use analog or digital input, i.e. you cant use both together so only configure one card in mythtv.  If you have both tuners configured I would remove one from mythtv and power cycle the box before trying to scan again.

NOS