Author Topic: Connecting to my TV/Monitor  (Read 1719 times)

acematti

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« on: November 09, 2007, 05:35:17 pm »
Hi we just got a new Hyundai Imagequest TV which has a whole plethora of connections and is a 32" widescreen system

Im not sure what is the best way to connect my machine up to this new TV to get the best result. At the moment i use the vga cable as it was easiest to get working. However when I watch DVDs or videos that are widescreen there are really big black borders at the top and bottom. I mustn't of picked the correct setup for my TV when I ran the AV wizard.

Heres the connectors that my TV has:

TV-out
Scart
VGA
HDMI
Composite
Analog

My Graphics card has the following outputs:

VGA
DVI
TV-out

Im thinking that a dvi to hdmi will be the best way to connect it up but im not too sure. Also I would like to remove the black borders from some of the TV and DVD/Videos that i watch if possible.

THe interface appears to cover the whole screen nicely unlike films that I play back.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated

Matt

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 05:40:34 pm »
are there black borders on the sides or just the top and bottom? deos the scene look like its been squashed at all? people look too short and wide...or do they look normal?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

acematti

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2007, 06:51:14 pm »
No its all in ratio but its just borders at the top like your watching a wide screen film on a normal television.

Bit strange thats all.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2007, 06:52:27 pm »
Maybe your screen just isn't wide enough.  ;)
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2007, 07:04:55 pm »
yeah...think Zaercs right. sounds like your watching something that was just filmed something larger than your 16:9. cinemascope or something maybe.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4462
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2007, 07:06:47 pm »
Hi we just got a new Hyundai Imagequest TV which has a whole plethora of connections and is a 32" widescreen system

Im not sure what is the best way to connect my machine up to this new TV to get the best result. At the moment i use the vga cable as it was easiest to get working. However when I watch DVDs or videos that are widescreen there are really big black borders at the top and bottom. I mustn't of picked the correct setup for my TV when I ran the AV wizard.

Heres the connectors that my TV has:

TV-out
Scart
VGA
HDMI
Composite
Analog

My Graphics card has the following outputs:

VGA
DVI
TV-out

Im thinking that a dvi to hdmi will be the best way to connect it up but im not too sure. Also I would like to remove the black borders from some of the TV and DVD/Videos that i watch if possible.

THe interface appears to cover the whole screen nicely unlike films that I play back.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated

Matt

Hi Matt,

I would suggest you choose DVI -> HDMI and then use the AVwizard to choose DVI/HDMI out at your Hybrid and 720p as your resolution, and UI2 as your Orbiter UI choice and 'Stereo' to route sound to your TV's stereo input audio inputs. 720p resolution is a true 16:9 resolution and the AVwizard will generate the appropriate mode line for your TV... and that will get rid of most instances of 'Letter boxing' that you are seeing. There will still be some movies that are at a greater aspect ration than 16:9 ie some are 2.35:1 for example and these will still 'letter box' (but under UI2 you can 'zoom' those movies if you want to).

Hope the above helps

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2007, 08:39:15 pm »
zooming will cut off some of the sides of the movie, if that matters to you....but if that mattered to anyone theyd just make tvs that wide right?  ;)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

acematti

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting to my TV/Monitor
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2007, 10:40:47 am »
Ahh thanks for all the useful information guys its most helpful.

Regards

Matt