Author Topic: network storage  (Read 2943 times)

richardj

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
network storage
« on: November 07, 2007, 03:33:42 pm »
Might be an obvious question but im not 100% clued up on linux's capabilities.

I want to go for a hybrid core / media centre which will be positioned in my lounge with my main tv ... doing this because I it will be easier for tv feeds into the core ... I want a small good looking HTPC chassis, which wont be able to hold enough hard drives ...

I already have a linux server used for backups, firewall, proxy, vpn in my study, I would like to load this up with 4 - 5 hard drives running a raid array.  Anybody see any problems with me storing all the media on a different pc to the core ?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 04:18:31 pm »
Might be an obvious question but im not 100% clued up on linux's capabilities.

I want to go for a hybrid core / media centre which will be positioned in my lounge with my main tv ... doing this because I it will be easier for tv feeds into the core ... I want a small good looking HTPC chassis, which wont be able to hold enough hard drives ...

I already have a linux server used for backups, firewall, proxy, vpn in my study, I would like to load this up with 4 - 5 hard drives running a raid array.  Anybody see any problems with me storing all the media on a different pc to the core ?

none whatsoever, LinuxMCE supports this out of the box. Just provide the appropriate username and password when it finds your share. I would suggest using Samba to share them on your file server.

-Thom

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2007, 05:26:12 pm »
I have no media at all on the core.
Works 'swell'

mohansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2007, 07:02:07 am »
Is it possible for the network storage to exist on the public/outside interface of LinuxMCE?  I can either modify or disable the internal firewall if necessary.  I have another firewall before I connect to my ISP.

My MD's will exist on the inside interface so the netboot and DHCP works.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2007, 01:33:45 pm »
Is it possible for the network storage to exist on the public/outside interface of LinuxMCE?  I can either modify or disable the internal firewall if necessary.  I have another firewall before I connect to my ISP.

My MD's will exist on the inside interface so the netboot and DHCP works.
I suppose it could be possible, but if you have to ask then you're probably going to run into more trouble then it's worth.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: network storage
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2007, 01:02:48 am »
Just happened to have a test core/hybrid that was set up with a nas device on the external net that the test core was on, so I thought I'd give this a quick shot.

 :)
1st the EASY WAY put the nas device or windows box on the internal net and let it get auto-detected like everyone says.


 ::)
But if you are stubborn or curious like me.

I initially shut off the firewall but later tested with it on so the LinuxMce firewall should not have to be touched. (let me know if someone finds out otherwise).


1. In the web admin select show devices tree.
2. Select core from my devices.
3. Create child device - use the file server device template put in its ipaddress, username and password.
4. Now select the file server you just made and  Create child device - use the windows share device template put in its sharename, username and password and save it. if you go the kde desktop open konqueror to /home/public/data/other    and you should see some thing like Windows Share [55].

Now let it sync the files -takes a while.....................
You can go resync the files using the web admin but if you have a lot of files just let it sync overnight on its own.

In theory you may even be able to auto detect it on the internal net then change its ipaddress in the web admin and reconnect it on the external net.

But then again
 ;D
1st the EASY WAY put the nas device on the internal net and let it get auto-detected like everyone says.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

mohansen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2007, 05:04:07 pm »
Thanks for testing this.  I have not had a chance to build a system yet so I was not able to test.  I have several different networks today and did not want to redo everything just to get LinuxMCE up and running.  I have many devices (SONOS) today accessing the music stored on the NAS as well as many network cameras already configured on the outside network.

I will try your suggestions once I get the system loaded up.

Thanks again
« Last Edit: December 15, 2007, 05:06:40 pm by mohansen »

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2007, 06:51:28 pm »
Just happened to have a test core/hybrid that was set up with a nas device on the external net that the test core was on, so I thought I'd give this a quick shot.

I have updated the "Network Attached Storage" wiki article with your instructions (including your advice about the easy way :)).

nomad513

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: network storage
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2008, 08:57:50 pm »
I had this same issue with attempting to get an external NAS to be seen by the core.  I followed the steps above to do this, but I always a problem when i would attempt to save something through the interface, it would tell me the disk was full everytime (even though is had almost 200GB of free space.  Through lots of trial and error I finally found a solution that worked for me, and might work for someone else too.  After your core is all setup on the network, go into your NAS device and change its static IP to 192.168.80.x (I used 200 so its outside the assignable IP range by the DHCP server).  Within 2 minutes of me doing this, the core found my NAS, configured it properly, and now works just fine to save anything to from he interface.

Just passing this along...

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: network storage
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2008, 03:35:41 am »
Just happened to have a test core/hybrid that was set up with a nas device on the external net that the test core was on, so I thought I'd give this a quick shot.

 :)
1st the EASY WAY put the nas device or windows box on the internal net and let it get auto-detected like everyone says.


 ::)
But if you are stubborn or curious like me.

I initially shut off the firewall but later tested with it on so the LinuxMce firewall should not have to be touched. (let me know if someone finds out otherwise).


1. In the web admin select show devices tree.
2. Select core from my devices.
3. Create child device - use the file server device template put in its ipaddress, username and password.
4. Now select the file server you just made and  Create child device - use the windows share device template put in its sharename, username and password and save it. if you go the kde desktop open konqueror to /home/public/data/other    and you should see some thing like Windows Share [55].

Now let it sync the files -takes a while.....................
You can go resync the files using the web admin but if you have a lot of files just let it sync overnight on its own.

In theory you may even be able to auto detect it on the internal net then change its ipaddress in the web admin and reconnect it on the external net.

But then again
 ;D
1st the EASY WAY put the nas device on the internal net and let it get auto-detected like everyone says.


 So I spent pretty much all day on this, spent a couple hours on the chat line and me to some cool users. I was going to go out and get a new switch and install everything on the inside of the core's lan But I am stubborn as well, so I took a break and started over. my initial following was from another post that I did not right down (sorry) At the end of doing the above not adding any shares just the main device was to trigger it in a shell window and then if it did not find the shares then to add them manually. Well Tonight I took one step at a time. I rebooted the server let everything load up, then I went into Web Admin and added the file server as above but this time I put in the External Lan IP Addressand the MAC address then I added the device as above and low and behold it found the device and then added all nine drives (Windows Shares) It is now scanning all those drives and the files within.

 So I am not sure if the MAC address was the key but it was instantly found as soon as I set up the device.

 Regards,

 Dave In Canada