Author Topic: thin clients  (Read 1748 times)

aussie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
thin clients
« on: November 07, 2007, 07:22:05 am »
just before i go on my spending spree.   just a quick question

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-IBM-THIN-CLIENTS-8363-P-233MMX-64MB-thin-as-a-cracker_W0QQitemZ170128018127QQihZ007QQcategoryZ11215QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem

is this useless for a  MD???  would it be possible to buy something lile this? or is the video functionality on it not good enough?  any thoughts

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin clients
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 10:04:16 am »
just before i go on my spending spree.   just a quick question

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-IBM-THIN-CLIENTS-8363-P-233MMX-64MB-thin-as-a-cracker_W0QQitemZ170128018127QQihZ007QQcategoryZ11215QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItem

is this useless for a  MD???  would it be possible to buy something lile this? or is the video functionality on it not good enough?  any thoughts

That machine is way undepowered (our experience with the Geode has not been very good) and the graphics are not up to it either. Look at Fanless Via MB's with a C7 processors @1Ghz or above and CN700 or CX700 graphics processors as these will work well as MD's under UI1 running the Via Unichrome Pro and the video performance is stunning.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

aussie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: thin clients
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 06:59:42 am »
Thanks Alot, Research away!!!

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: thin clients
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2007, 05:27:19 pm »
Really?!?! I've got just the Via mobo you're talking about, sitting right here beside my desk!!! I ordered it for my freenas and wound up using a 600mhz Via instead because it worked just fine for a freenas... Will the 1.0ghz Via play h.264 encoded mp4's ok?? No way it can play hi-def can it??

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin clients
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2007, 11:55:45 pm »
Really?!?! I've got just the Via mobo you're talking about, sitting right here beside my desk!!! I ordered it for my freenas and wound up using a 600mhz Via instead because it worked just fine for a freenas... Will the 1.0ghz Via play h.264 encoded mp4's ok?? No way it can play hi-def can it??

I'm not sure what your point is exactly... but I think the difference between running freenas and a complete Core is pretty large. The Core has many more processes running and many of those processes are quite heavy and media related in a typical system. Yes many small, cheap standalone NAS's use something of a similar or lower power to your 600Mhz C3... but on the other hand they are not intended for useage at the kind of intensity that 2-3 MD system will impose on a Core... a bit of light file serving and streaming maybe... but running all the things a lmce Core has to no.

A C7 @ 1Ghz with a CN700 or CX700M will play an h.264 stream ok in our experience and we run ours at 720p... but a 1.2 or 1.5Ghz processor will improve overall responsiveness in the UI but has marginal performance gain for video playback in our experience.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: thin clients
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2007, 12:21:33 am »
I think he meant that he's got one to spare since it turned out his freenas box didn't need that much power.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: thin clients
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2007, 07:54:41 am »
Totally Maxed-
Are you playing HD H.264 files? Which video driver are you using? What data rate H.264 can it handle? Via said they can only handle SD.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin clients
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2007, 03:23:38 pm »
I think he meant that he's got one to spare since it turned out his freenas box didn't need that much power.

Ooops! yep your right.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: thin clients
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2007, 03:52:35 pm »
I'm sorry if I didn't make myself clear...  I'm not talking about using the Via 1.0ghz for a core but just a net bootable MD to play media in the bedrooms..  I already have a core...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin clients
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2007, 04:18:24 pm »
I'm sorry if I didn't make myself clear...  I'm not talking about using the Via 1.0ghz for a core but just a net bootable MD to play media in the bedrooms..  I already have a core...

Sorry my misunderstanding as Zaerc pointed out ;-)

Your 1Ghz Via should be fine then... I would add the addon DVI board though if you can.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin clients
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2007, 04:19:33 pm »
Totally Maxed-
Are you playing HD H.264 files? Which video driver are you using? What data rate H.264 can it handle? Via said they can only handle SD.

Yes we are under Openchrome Pro
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk