Author Topic: Install Touchscreen drivers from rpm or deb?  (Read 5200 times)

scrotyballbags

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Install Touchscreen drivers from rpm or deb?
« on: November 07, 2007, 12:54:56 am »
Hi Guys, I am hoping someone can help me.

I have a really old MicroTouch 10.4 touchscreen and wanted to set up Linux MCE for home security purposes.  I need to install the src.rpm, which I converted using alien to a compiled .deb file and have installed what seems successfully.  However the configuration file does not appear to be where it should be and a search does not bring it up, and the touch screen still does not work (it is over the serial port).  I have included the instructions here.

Does anyone have experience of adding their own drivers?

I tried compiling the rpm file as in the drivers instructions, but that spat errors out while it tried.  I appreciate any help, i am new to Linux (played with smoothwall in the past though) but am learning quickly!

Zaerc

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install Touchscreen drivers from rpm or deb?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 01:41:29 am »
If I were you I'd try to get the sources from the .src.rpm and then build them locally on the (kubuntu) machine you'll be using them on.  There is probably a .spec file included which contains instructions that can be used to build the sources manually.  But unfortunately that's going to be pretty tough if you're new to all this.  If you can paste the .spec file in here I might be able to give you at least some assistence.

Looking a bit closer at the file you attached to your post, I'm starting to suspect that the .src.rpm does not include the actual source code, if that's the case I reckon you're out of luck.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous

scrotyballbags

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2007, 10:41:23 pm »