Author Topic: Fresh DVD Install  (Read 1656 times)

rocco

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Fresh DVD Install
« on: November 05, 2007, 01:13:47 pm »
I am new to linux and MCE, but did down load the DVD and install.  The process went well, although during the setup wizard the system kept stoping and asking if I wanted to let found equipment drives computers, bluetooth and other devices to share. 

Well I get to the LinuxMCE web admin and try to login HA not a chance, tryed the user name and default password I was given during install.  Tryed admin.... and searched the wiki install instructions, reinstalled everything just in case I missed something the first time, still no luck.

Help
Rocco

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 03:06:43 pm »
The password for the web admin is the same as the first user you entered.
The 1234 password is the default pin-code for an attached alarm system.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 03:09:17 pm »
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


rocco

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2007, 04:36:14 pm »
I did use the first user and default 1234. How what should I try to download the ISO again and install from DVD?  Or is it best to install Kubuntu 7.04 and then use the 2 CD set?

Any suggestions?

Rocco

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2007, 04:38:08 pm »
I did use the first user and default 1234. How what should I try to download the ISO again and install from DVD?  Or is it best to install Kubuntu 7.04 and then use the 2 CD set?

Any suggestions?

Rocco
I suggest you read the replies you allready got.  ;)
It says, do not use the 1234 as that is the default pin code for the alarm...

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2007, 05:01:29 pm »
rocco....did you look at the link zaerc gave you? it spells it out pretty plainly on that page.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

rocco

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2007, 10:06:26 pm »
OOPS
I need to look closer, eyes are old at 60 and bifocals not working great.
Thanks

Rocco

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2007, 10:14:47 pm »
did you manage to get in ok now?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

rocco

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2007, 06:40:45 pm »
Yes I can get in to the Admin, but having problems with internet connection, this causes a problem as all help files are on line.

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3101.0
Rocco

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4454
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2007, 09:47:14 pm »
Yes I can get in to the Admin, but having problems with internet connection, this causes a problem as all help files are on line.

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3101.0
Rocco

You should have something like the settings below... but note that the core below has a single physical network adapter which is used via a router to provide both the LAN & WAN side networks;

EXTERNAL_IFACE     eth0
EXTERNAL_MAC    00:16:17:76:6F:6B
EXTERNAL_IP    192.168.20.99
EXTERNAL_NETMASK    255.255.255.0
EXTERNAL_DHCP    0
INTERNAL_IFACE    eth0:0
INTERNAL_MAC    00:16:17:76:6F:6B
INTERNAL_IP    192.168.80.1
INTERNAL_NETMASK    255.255.255.0
GATEWAY    192.168.20.1
DNS1    192.168.20.1
DNS2    192.168.20.1
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rocco

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2007, 03:52:10 am »
Quote
You should have something like the settings below... but note that the core below has a single physical network adapter which is used via a router to provide both the LAN & WAN side networks;

EXTERNAL_IFACE     eth0
EXTERNAL_MAC    00:16:17:76:6F:6B
EXTERNAL_IP    192.168.20.99
EXTERNAL_NETMASK    255.255.255.0
EXTERNAL_DHCP    0
INTERNAL_IFACE    eth0:0
INTERNAL_MAC    00:16:17:76:6F:6B
INTERNAL_IP    192.168.80.1
INTERNAL_NETMASK    255.255.255.0
GATEWAY    192.168.20.1
DNS1    192.168.20.1
DNS2    192.168.20.1

Thanks for the info, but being new to Linux and MCE how do I use this info?
I can remove the second Ethernet card then what?
Do I go to the Admin page and find this under Advanced, Network, Network Settings?
I am not good with network stuff, can follow directions  but can't see where I can change the settings that are listed.

Rocco

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2007, 08:29:10 am »
You can set everything in the web admin.
Some under network settings, but you may have go into 'device settings' as well.
Starting to be a while since I did this.

This has nothing to do with being good at Linux or not, I think the settings are very similar to any wireless router actually, so it's quite universal.

You will see a listing of the eth cards at the bottom of the device settings, this can be manually edited, the syntax becomes obvious if you read the ones allready there.
The order is also important with regards to internal/external network.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4454
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2007, 12:21:32 pm »
Quote
You should have something like the settings below... but note that the core below has a single physical network adapter which is used via a router to provide both the LAN & WAN side networks;

EXTERNAL_IFACE     eth0
EXTERNAL_MAC    00:16:17:76:6F:6B
EXTERNAL_IP    192.168.20.99
EXTERNAL_NETMASK    255.255.255.0
EXTERNAL_DHCP    0
INTERNAL_IFACE    eth0:0
INTERNAL_MAC    00:16:17:76:6F:6B
INTERNAL_IP    192.168.80.1
INTERNAL_NETMASK    255.255.255.0
GATEWAY    192.168.20.1
DNS1    192.168.20.1
DNS2    192.168.20.1

Thanks for the info, but being new to Linux and MCE how do I use this info?
I can remove the second Ethernet card then what?
Do I go to the Admin page and find this under Advanced, Network, Network Settings?
I am not good with network stuff, can follow directions  but can't see where I can change the settings that are listed.

Rocco


Yes you can make most (if not all) of the changes needed in the Web Admin page you mention above... as Hagen has already said. I would suggest that you stick with the two physical interfaces now (there is no downside... apart from possibly using one of your PCI slots) as removing one and updating things after the install is not that simple. Just follow Hagens advice and look at what settings you already have.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2007, 12:29:33 pm »
Actually removing an ethernet card can be done quite easily, explaining it is harder than doing it.
What you need to do is replace one of them with eth0:0 (the :0 signals that it's an internal or virtual ethernet card).
In the device settings on the web admin you can do this, but it takes a few steps of saving the changes.
Then you can remover the card.

Harder to explain than it is to do.
You can also add network cards here, but that requires going into the KDE desktop and finding the name of the new ethernet card.
I have added Wlans like that, but dropped it... too unstable

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh DVD Install
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2007, 04:06:28 pm »
I guess that would be the reverse of this: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Single_to_Double_NIC

And have you tried switching the cables around already? 

If you can open a terminal (aka. Konsole) on the KDE desktop and copy/paste the output of the "/sbin/ifconfig" command in here that might give us some insights to what the problem is.

EDIT:

Could it be that the modem may need something like PPPoE to connect to the provider?
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 07:23:16 pm by Zaerc »
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous