Author Topic: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem  (Read 1041 times)

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« on: November 24, 2007, 10:59:30 pm »
Hello, I went to turn on the LinuxMCE box today to try and mess with it and get closer to having it all tuned in for production and I get this error after the everything starts except the actual orbiter.

"can not start transparency check and see if transparency manager is running"

whats the deal with this? It was working earlier today, all I did was Stop Media director and turned it back on later.

How can I get the transparency manager running again?

Kevin

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2007, 12:49:25 am »
Sounds like the configuration of your display drivers got messed up somehow.  You could try going trough the AVWizard again.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2007, 03:46:49 am »
Sounds like the configuration of your display drivers got messed up somehow.  You could try going trough the AVWizard again.

Thats actually what I ended up doing, so far so good but without any transparency.

rafik24

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2007, 04:01:17 am »
 I have the same issue since yesterday with an nvidia Geforce 6200GS using the GPU driver 96.4X.

 It all worked well for few days then suddenly no trensparency nor screensaver.

 Using UI2 with alphablending and the ui still works and does not complain.

 can't see any changes in xorg.conf even after running the AV Setup.

 Weird.

Rafik

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2007, 04:37:26 pm »
I'm using a Nvidia 7300GT and it was a sudden problem. The only fix was to run the A/V wixard and select the most basic orbitor setting then once it was up do the A/V wizard again selecting UI2. What a pain! Lets hope it was a one time glitch.

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2007, 06:56:06 pm »
I figured out what was causing this, Twice I shut down the PC and removed a PCI Hauppauge 500 PVR card and on the next boot I had no transparency error as well as no OpenGL error. I tried shutting down and reinstalling the PVR card but still the same error.

The Moral...Dont remove hardware I guess.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2007, 08:01:13 pm »
So I guess that means you did a little more then just "Stop Media director and turned it back on later" as you said before.  :P
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: I Suddenly have a Transparency problem
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2007, 08:37:16 pm »
It does sound that way but to clarify. Once I did nothing but stop it and the next time I removed a PVR card and the third time I removed a PVR card again. I'm going to do a full install again tonight and try to use caution getting things to work.