Author Topic: Not having a lot of luck :(  (Read 1431 times)

Wilseus

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Not having a lot of luck :(
« on: November 04, 2007, 09:08:45 pm »
Hi, I have today been trying to install LinuxMCE from the Quick install DVD, and not very much is going right. The problems I am having are:

 - None of the offered resolutions are remotely appropriate for my LG HDTV, and result in an extremely poor picture. (I'm connecting to it via VGA, which works fine under Windows. (The TV is happiest with 1360/1366 x 768 @ 60Hz, at 16:9, where it 1:1 maps the pixels and looks stunning.) The TV doesn't like the 1024 x 768 x 60Hz offered at all and refuses to display it. This same resolution works OK under Windows.

 - The font in the launch manager window is very small and virtually unreadable.

 - Although my home cinema amp supports DTS, it does not recognise the DTS test in the setup wizard. Again, DTS works fine when playing movies under Windows.

 - Open GL does not appear to work - I had to reinstall the entire OS because I couldn't get it to stop trying to reinitialise GL every 10 seconds.

After a totally wasted Sunday afternoon, I am extremely close to going back to Windows XP. Please help. :'(


leonja

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Not having a lot of luck :(
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2007, 09:21:42 pm »
Wilseus
I also had some problems getting my system to work with my nvidia based video card.  You don't mention what hardware are you using.  Have you tried 720p resolution?  This is the resolution I used with my LCD TV, which also has a 1366x768 resolution. 

Good luck,
Jaime
Selectron 42 inch LCD TV
AMD Athlon 2800+ on MSI K7N Motherboard
2x512MB DDR400 RAM
PNY Nvidia FX 5700 AGP video card
Hauppauge PVR-150 MCE capture card
Integrated Realtek 5.1 audio

Wilseus

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Not having a lot of luck :(
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 01:46:54 pm »
Hi, my system is an Elonex Artisan. newbielink:http://www.ebuyer.com/product/123032 [nonactive], with a P4 Prescott CPU.
I'm using the onboard graphics at the moment, which I think is an Intel chipset. I tried using the 720p and it did not work very well at all - the desktop was larger than the screen, which seemed to be displaying quite a low resolution.

I also have some more problems I didn't mention below:

 - Didn't detect my IR reciever (built into the motherboard, I think it's a Window Media Centre compatible one)

 - I can't find a way of accessing any of the media on my fileserver.

I realise that a hell of a lot of work must have have gone into this software, but I can't say I'm desperately impressed, currently. It seems to be a Jack of All Trades but Master of None :(

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 884
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Not having a lot of luck :(
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2007, 05:21:23 pm »
Which Lg model do you use ?

Maybe you can open up wiki page and we will post findings...... I'm sure that this should bo solvable one way or another...

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

Wilseus

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Not having a lot of luck :(
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2007, 06:13:14 pm »
The TV is an LG 32LX2R. This one: newbielink:http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-bin/displayreview.php?reviewid=6290 [nonactive]. I'm connecting it to the computer via the VGA output, to the TV's DVI-A input.
I know that it IS capable of working perfectly with this computer because it does so under Windows.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4379
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Not having a lot of luck :(
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2007, 07:14:17 pm »
Hi, my system is an Elonex Artisan. http://www.ebuyer.com/product/123032, with a P4 Prescott CPU.
I'm using the onboard graphics at the moment, which I think is an Intel chipset. I tried using the 720p and it did not work very well at all - the desktop was larger than the screen, which seemed to be displaying quite a low resolution.

I also have some more problems I didn't mention below:

 - Didn't detect my IR reciever (built into the motherboard, I think it's a Window Media Centre compatible one)

 - I can't find a way of accessing any of the media on my fileserver.

I realise that a hell of a lot of work must have have gone into this software, but I can't say I'm desperately impressed, currently. It seems to be a Jack of All Trades but Master of None :(


We have several of the earlier Artisan's working here (ie the one without the big volume knob on the front) that are essentially exactly the same. So don't panic....and dont give up! I will send you some more info on fixing your problems later as I am just leaving for home now.

Cheers

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4379
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Not having a lot of luck :(
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2007, 01:06:49 am »
Hi, my system is an Elonex Artisan. http://www.ebuyer.com/product/123032, with a P4 Prescott CPU.
I'm using the onboard graphics at the moment, which I think is an Intel chipset. I tried using the 720p and it did not work very well at all - the desktop was larger than the screen, which seemed to be displaying quite a low resolution.

I also have some more problems I didn't mention below:

 - Didn't detect my IR reciever (built into the motherboard, I think it's a Window Media Centre compatible one)

 - I can't find a way of accessing any of the media on my fileserver.

I realise that a hell of a lot of work must have have gone into this software, but I can't say I'm desperately impressed, currently. It seems to be a Jack of All Trades but Master of None :(


We have several of the earlier Artisan's working here (ie the one without the big volume knob on the front) that are essentially exactly the same. So don't panic....and dont give up! I will send you some more info on fixing your problems later as I am just leaving for home now.

Cheers

Andrew

Right... as promised here is some info to get your Artisan working ;-)

The onboard graphics are indeed Intel based. The onboard Intel graphics can certainly work ok for VGA resolutions upto and including 1024x768. We have not tested the Artisan at 720p using the onboard graphics so I can't say whether that would work at all but it might. In anycase you would want to ideally connect to your TV using DVI to DVI, DVI to HDMI or RGB (component) to get 720p. We now use nVidia 6200 or 7300 cards with DVI or RGB out (this comes out from a splitter cable).

The Artisan's IR receiver is mce compatible... if it doe not get detected correctly (and this is sometimes the case if you installed from the DVD installer) then just go into Web Admin -> Wizards -> Devices -> Media Directors and set the 'Infrared Receivers' setting for your Hybrid Media Director to 'Default' and then use the 'Add Infrared Remote' button to add an "Windows XP MC Remote". Then use the 'Update' button at the bottom of the window to save your changes and then do a reload router and your installation should install the additional software needed to enable your IR hardware correctly (you should have an network connection when doing this).

If your fileserver is a Windows share then it should have been detected and you should have responded to the auto-detection message that appeared by allowing it to be added. Ther are many other threads here about doing this so do a search for more info.

Hope the above helps you out... if not then let me know ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk