Author Topic: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2  (Read 3214 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« on: November 02, 2007, 01:07:52 pm »
Hi all,

Does anyone have a working UI2 with Overlay xorg.conf for the nVidia 6150 onboard graphics chip using the nVidia closed drivers that ship with 0704?

We can configure the 6150 under the Open nv driver without any problem... but if we switch to the shipping nVidia driver that ships as part of lmce-0704 driver then we just get a blank screen without any cursor (however the display is receiving a valid picture).

If any of you have an xorg.conf that you have working under UI2 with the 6150... I'd be very pleased to hear from you ;-)

Regards

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

RockHound

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2007, 01:14:29 pm »
Does your /var/log/Xorg.0.log spit out anything wierd? Have you tried holding "1" to reconfigure your screen with the AVWizard?

You might also try the following to get the latest nvidia-drivers installed:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#NVidia_Chipsets


Regards,

Martin

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2007, 11:01:15 pm »
This works. Its for the M2NPV-VM board and a 1280X1024 monitor using a blended GUI. The video quality isn't as good as the overlay version. But this is my core and I don't use it for serious TV (its in my workshop). I can post an overlay 1080p Xorg.conf that works if anyone wants to explore it. There are a raft of other settings to much around with to get it working and in few weeks the new version will include it.

Code: [Select]
# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf(5) manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
# path to defoma fonts
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "i2c"
Load "bitmap"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "vbe"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "v4l"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "stylus"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "stylus"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "eraser"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "eraser"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "cursor"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "cursor"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation C51PV [GeForce 6150]"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:0:5:0"
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "renderAccel" "true"
Option "NoDDCValue"
Option "UseEDID" "false"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 20-500
VertRefresh 59-61
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation C51PV [GeForce 6150]"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubSection
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "renderAccel" "true"
Option "NoDDCValue"
Option "UseEDID" "false"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
Option "TVStandard" "1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice     "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice     "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice     "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "true"
Option "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2007, 01:03:51 pm »
This works. Its for the M2NPV-VM board and a 1280X1024 monitor using a blended GUI. The video quality isn't as good as the overlay version. But this is my core and I don't use it for serious TV (its in my workshop). I can post an overlay 1080p Xorg.conf that works if anyone wants to explore it. There are a raft of other settings to much around with to get it working and in few weeks the new version will include it.

Code: [Select]
# /etc/X11/xorg.conf (xorg X Window System server configuration file)
#
# This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
# values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf(5) manual page.
# (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
#
# This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
# if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
# package.
#
# If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
# again, run the following command:
#   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
# path to defoma fonts
FontPath "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "i2c"
Load "bitmap"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "vbe"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "v4l"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "stylus"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "stylus"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "eraser"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "eraser"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "cursor"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/wacom"
Option "Type" "cursor"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia Corporation C51PV [GeForce 6150]"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:0:5:0"
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "renderAccel" "true"
Option "NoDDCValue"
Option "UseEDID" "false"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 20-500
VertRefresh 59-61
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "nVidia Corporation C51PV [GeForce 6150]"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubSection
Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "renderAccel" "true"
Option "NoDDCValue"
Option "UseEDID" "false"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
Option "TVStandard" "1280x1024"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice     "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice     "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice     "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "true"
Option "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

Hi 1audio,

Thanks for the xorg.conf - I'll give it a try on Monday as i don't have access to the 6150 Core until then. The Core is connected to a 26" Samsung LCD TV over HDMI and I am trying to configure it at 720p. I can get the screen to work using the 'nv' driver at 720p using the same mode line so I am sure that the TV itself will handle the mode line and therefore the video hardware too. It maybe that the '0704' nVidia driver is broken in respect of 720p on the 6150 as this same screen works fine at 720p using the nVidia driver when connected to a 6200 card.

Thanks again for your reply. Much appreciated.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2007, 04:07:18 pm »
It should work at 720p, I used it that way for months. All set up through the AV Wizard.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2007, 06:11:29 pm »
Does your /var/log/Xorg.0.log spit out anything wierd? Have you tried holding "1" to reconfigure your screen with the AVWizard?

You might also try the following to get the latest nvidia-drivers installed:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#NVidia_Chipsets


Regards,

Martin


No the Xorg.0.log looks fine... and yes I'm using the '1' key to force the AVwizard to output via the DVI/HDMI port... but when I do that the AVwizard successfult reconfigures the output and the screen refreshes (and I get no 'out of range' or other erros from the screen)... but all I get is a blank screen.

My next step is to download the latest stable nVidia driver and see if that fixes the problem.

Thanks for your suggestions ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2007, 08:25:31 pm »
You could be fighting modeline problems. Who made the monitor? The modelines that LMCE uses are not necessarily correct. I would start with the ones on the Myth list. The ATSC are the best to start with. You may need to do some manual tuning, I had to add some stuff that was not there to get it to work on the 1080p display and the old Pluto one was all wrong. You may get better results if you let the driver use the DID from the display, but you may not. . . If the settings are a little too far out the monitor will not display at all. Judging from the list on the Myth modeline database there are a lot of problems with this and most come from Mfr's bad data, and some from video cards rejecting the setting they were given.
The new drivers are buggy. And not helpful if you don't need them.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2007, 04:16:32 pm »
You could be fighting modeline problems. Who made the monitor? The modelines that LMCE uses are not necessarily correct. I would start with the ones on the Myth list. The ATSC are the best to start with. You may need to do some manual tuning, I had to add some stuff that was not there to get it to work on the 1080p display and the old Pluto one was all wrong. You may get better results if you let the driver use the DID from the display, but you may not. . . If the settings are a little too far out the monitor will not display at all. Judging from the list on the Myth modeline database there are a lot of problems with this and most come from Mfr's bad data, and some from video cards rejecting the setting they were given.
The new drivers are buggy. And not helpful if you don't need them.

The TV is a Samsung by the way. If I connect the Samsung to another Core with a 6200 card the very same AVwizard generated modeline is fine and I get a perfect 720p picture. So I am homing in on the problem being that the nVidia driver installed by 0704 is not compatible with the 6150 onboard nVidia graphics chip - or at least it looks that way. The nVidia driver Version: 100.14.23 is apparently stable based on some discussions I have had with one of the Pluto Devs so I will try that version.

I will try your suggestion of trying alternative mode lines from the Myth site too though as well.

I'll report back on success or failure tomorrow!
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2007, 04:50:10 pm »
Are you using the latest BIOS for the motherboard? Whose board is it? The early BIOS's for the Asus didn't work under Linux. I know the 9635 nvidia drive does work on the 6150 so there is something a little strange and it would be good to get to the bottom of it.

I will try the new driver from Nvidia soon myself. The .19 driver was very bug infested.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2007, 06:48:49 pm »
Are you using the latest BIOS for the motherboard? Whose board is it? The early BIOS's for the Asus didn't work under Linux. I know the 9635 nvidia drive does work on the 6150 so there is something a little strange and it would be good to get to the bottom of it.

I will try the new driver from Nvidia soon myself. The .19 driver was very bug infested.

Hi again. A bios update is a good suggestion I will look into that. Thanks.

The unit we're testing is the MSI Media Live Media Centre PC. See here; http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=newsdesc&news_no=529

I don't have the machine in front of me now but I will check the motherboard model tomorrow.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2007, 07:38:00 pm »
You probably have the 7050 chipset in that box. The 6150 doesn't support HDMI. And the 7050 doesn't work with the old driver. I hope the newest driver is stable enough since its the only alternative.

RockHound

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2007, 07:55:55 pm »
Regarding the 100.14.23 drivers, I can say that they have been working for me since the release date without any hickups.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2007, 08:41:07 pm »
You probably have the 7050 chipset in that box. The 6150 doesn't support HDMI. And the 7050 doesn't work with the old driver. I hope the newest driver is stable enough since its the only alternative.

The msi definitely has a 6150 C51 nVidia chip and this board does have HDMI. I will be testing the new driver tomorrow... and will report back once I have. Thanks again.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4443
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2007, 11:50:01 pm »
You probably have the 7050 chipset in that box. The 6150 doesn't support HDMI. And the 7050 doesn't work with the old driver. I hope the newest driver is stable enough since its the only alternative.

The msi definitely has a 6150 C51 nVidia chip and this board does have HDMI. I will be testing the new driver tomorrow... and will report back once I have. Thanks again.

I just wanted report back that I have got the MSI Media Live box displaying at 720p over HDMI without using the newer nVidia driver or updating the BIOS. I stumbled upon the idea of setting the screen resolution and other parameters in Web Admin -> Wizards -> Devices ->Media Directors and then doing a reload router. This worked great... tomorrow I will also test the newer driver and BIOS and report back again.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #14 on: November 06, 2007, 09:04:56 am »
I know this is getting pretty deep but can you tell the model number of the board or what it uses for an HDMI interface chip? Does it support audio over the HDMI interface? I am very interested in trying it.