Author Topic: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2  (Read 3043 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2007, 11:22:39 am »
I know this is getting pretty deep but can you tell the model number of the board or what it uses for an HDMI interface chip? Does it support audio over the HDMI interface? I am very interested in trying it.

Yes it does support audio over the HDMI :-)

Here's a link to the motherboard http://217.110.237.67/Manuals/7329-engl%20v1.0%20-%20MS-7329%20(G52-73291X1).pdf
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2007, 09:26:59 pm »
That board doesn't exist on this side of the pond. Looks interesting.

Any success with drivers?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2007, 09:55:43 pm »
That board doesn't exist on this side of the pond. Looks interesting.

Any success with drivers?

I have not had a chance to test the newer drivers or the updated BIOS... to busy testing the unit under lmce ;-)

However I can confirm that this MB is really great and is working flawlessly now I have the xorg setup correctly... its a killer MB all round. We're testing it in a Media Live enclosure and that is also very nice.

I will hopefully have time to test the updated drivers next week.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2007, 08:00:50 pm »
totallymaxed..  I'm having all kinds of trouble with my 6150....  in a nutshell, after initial install, ran a/v wizard at startup, setting output to dvi, 720p..  everything was fine as far as the picture/resolution..  had to re-run a/v wizard to drop back down to UI 1 and ever since, I can't get a screen at any resolution that is watchable...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #19 on: November 13, 2007, 08:33:50 pm »
totallymaxed..  I'm having all kinds of trouble with my 6150....  in a nutshell, after initial install, ran a/v wizard at startup, setting output to dvi, 720p..  everything was fine as far as the picture/resolution..  had to re-run a/v wizard to drop back down to UI 1 and ever since, I can't get a screen at any resolution that is watchable...

Hmmm... can you explain in more detail?
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2007, 09:06:11 pm »
Last week, I made my first attempt at setting up lmce...  did a fresh install of hybrid linux mce with Kubuntu 7.04 on my media center pc which consists of asus mobo, sempron 3000, nvidia 6150, 1GB system memory.... lmce install finished and I performed the necessary reboot...  a/v wizard ran at startup and I setup for dvi out, 720p resolution and UI2 with alpha blending, dolby digital out...  everything seemed to be working perfectly...  system came up and I went through the regular wizard, setup rooms, users, etc...  I did not have a remote so that was not setup...  after the wizard was complete and the system came up to the user interface, I was stuck..  mouse input would not work and keyboard presses had no effect.. (at the time, I did not know that you had to press F6, F7, F8 to activate the keyboard)..  so I decided to try UI 1 just so I could get up and running..  re-ran the a/v wizard, choosing the same parameters as before with the exception of UI1 instead of UI2 alpha blending, screen never would come up..  just a blank screen...  powered off the system with the power button and ran the a/v wizard again by holding down shift as the system came up..  I chose the same parameters as before, but as soon as the screen refreshed after picking dvi out and 720p, the screen appeared as if it had been zoomed in 100x... re-ran a/v wizard multiple times choosing all possible resolutions...  keeping some and trying to center the box and yellow arrows..  nothing worked..  gave up and decided to wait until 7.10 comes out to try again....

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #21 on: November 13, 2007, 09:44:29 pm »
Last week, I made my first attempt at setting up lmce...  did a fresh install of hybrid linux mce with Kubuntu 7.04 on my media center pc which consists of asus mobo, sempron 3000, nvidia 6150, 1GB system memory.... lmce install finished and I performed the necessary reboot...  a/v wizard ran at startup and I setup for dvi out, 720p resolution and UI2 with alpha blending, dolby digital out...  everything seemed to be working perfectly...  system came up and I went through the regular wizard, setup rooms, users, etc...  I did not have a remote so that was not setup...  after the wizard was complete and the system came up to the user interface, I was stuck..  mouse input would not work and keyboard presses had no effect.. (at the time, I did not know that you had to press F6, F7, F8 to activate the keyboard)..  so I decided to try UI 1 just so I could get up and running..  re-ran the a/v wizard, choosing the same parameters as before with the exception of UI1 instead of UI2 alpha blending, screen never would come up..  just a blank screen...  powered off the system with the power button and ran the a/v wizard again by holding down shift as the system came up..  I chose the same parameters as before, but as soon as the screen refreshed after picking dvi out and 720p, the screen appeared as if it had been zoomed in 100x... re-ran a/v wizard multiple times choosing all possible resolutions...  keeping some and trying to center the box and yellow arrows..  nothing worked..  gave up and decided to wait until 7.10 comes out to try again....

Can you go into Web Admin -> Wizard -> Devices -> Media Directors and tell me all the settings for the screen... ie;

Connector     
Audio settings    
Video settings    
TV Standard    

And also what updates have you applied?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rrambo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2007, 09:52:45 pm »
totallymaxed..  will look at the web admin page tonight...  as far as updates, the only updates I know of would have been the ones during the lmce install process.. no Kubuntu updates were ran...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: nVidia 6150 onboard xorg.conf for UI2
« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2007, 10:02:55 pm »
totallymaxed..  will look at the web admin page tonight...  as far as updates, the only updates I know of would have been the ones during the lmce install process.. no Kubuntu updates were ran...

ok great. The update I referred to are the lmce-0704 ones that the system will alert you too... there are 4 of these. If you have all the updates applied then you will see this indicated in the Orbiter's 'Advanced' screen.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk