Author Topic: Help! simple answers for simple needs to use LMCE  (Read 2728 times)

NewIdiot

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Help! simple answers for simple needs to use LMCE
« on: November 02, 2007, 12:10:27 am »
Hi everyone:

I need to build a simple LinuxMCE setup.  Really not much more than a pvr.  I know there are many simpler solutions.  But I really want to use LinuxMCE.  I have been coming here, the home page and the wiki when I have a few free moments.  Unfortunately I have hardly any free time and the more I look around and read the more I'm just confused.  Most of this stuff is way more than I need and way over my head.  I'm not a total newbie to either Linux or A/V gear, but pretty limited Linux experience.  I am very computer hardware savvy though; except for new to hardware raid.  I'm hoping someone can help me with just a few simple questions the answers to which are tried and true.

I have so far:

Asus M2NPV-VM motherboard
AMD Athlon X2 5600+
The Fiire gyro wireless remote in the video
2 1 gig dual channel ram strips compatible with the board
Three SATA2 250gig drives I would like to use as hardware raid 0 array for the system for speed
A simple Linux server with near 2 terrabytes of HD Video mostly in HD Divx format and mp3's hooked to lan
My cablebox is a motorola DCT6416 III box with 2 HD tuners onboard with dvr capability hooked to monitor with component connector
34" Samsung HD monitor not digital has a picture tube Display is 1080I

What I need bare minimum is just a way to play MP3's and HD DivX video streamed over wired gigabit lan.

It would be nice to have it also be a PVR and be able to control the channels on the cable box but not necessary unless tried and true and easy.