Author Topic: No bootable device found?!  (Read 1471 times)

kyletrip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
No bootable device found?!
« on: October 26, 2007, 07:21:53 pm »
So, this may be a noob question, but I gotta ask anyways. Here's my scenario:

My Windows MCE drive just crashed, so I just bought Seagate 160GB HD, and I wanted to install linux mce and forget all about windows. I ripped out the old drive, plugged in the new one, put the DVD in and picked "Install Linux MCE". I picked the appropriate HD to install (since there is only one), and it went on its way and installed successfully. It told me to eject the CD and press enter to restart.

So when the comp restarts I get a message that says "No Boot Device Found. Please enter boot device and press any key to continue." If i put the linux MCE DVD back in, I can restart the comp and select the "Boot from hard disk" option and linux mce will come up. But I can't start it straight from the drive. So my question is, what am I doing wrong? I'd really appreciate some help here.

Thanks in advance!

nascarfan1956

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2007, 07:35:16 pm »
Did you run FDISK before attempting to install from the DVD??

kyletrip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2007, 08:16:39 pm »
I did, I even flagged the partition as bootable...still no dice.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2007, 01:20:13 am »
So, this may be a noob question, but I gotta ask anyways. Here's my scenario:

My Windows MCE drive just crashed, so I just bought Seagate 160GB HD, and I wanted to install linux mce and forget all about windows. I ripped out the old drive, plugged in the new one, put the DVD in and picked "Install Linux MCE". I picked the appropriate HD to install (since there is only one), and it went on its way and installed successfully. It told me to eject the CD and press enter to restart.

So when the comp restarts I get a message that says "No Boot Device Found. Please enter boot device and press any key to continue." If i put the linux MCE DVD back in, I can restart the comp and select the "Boot from hard disk" option and linux mce will come up. But I can't start it straight from the drive. So my question is, what am I doing wrong? I'd really appreciate some help here.

Thanks in advance!

Might be the jumpers... did you set your drives jumpers so that it is a 'Master' ? Also check your bios settings to make sure that it has been auto-detected etc.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2007, 02:50:57 am »
SATA or PATA/IDE?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

kyletrip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2007, 04:10:20 am »
The bios is set up correctly, it is a SATA drive.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2007, 12:03:32 pm »
The bios is set up correctly, it is a SATA drive.

That might be the problem... we've had problems when we've tried to use SATA drives as the boot drive when installing from the DVD. Might be worth testing an IDE drive as the boot drive and using your other drives just for data.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

kyletrip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No bootable device found?!
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2007, 09:35:13 pm »
I figured it out. When you install from the dvd onto a SATA drive, the installation removes the "bootable" flag on the drive. Run fdisk and toggle the flag back on and your good to go.