Author Topic: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)  (Read 1636 times)

slice16

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« on: October 24, 2007, 10:43:15 am »
Hi All,

I was hoping you could point me in the right direction. I have been trying to setup a LMCE system and test by booting a generic PC over the network and test.

My network is setup as follows:

Firewall: 192.168.2.1
MCE: 192.168.2.2
Clients: 192.168.2.5 - 254

LMCE is setup to run as a dhcp server with a scope of 192.168.2.5 to .254. It gives out the nameserver and gateway to be 192.168.2.1.

When trying to boot from PXE, when trying to mount nfs, I get connection read:connection refused.

When I added the MD, I added it in devices, put in the MAC address, updated, then "Setup Diskless MDs" and then did a quick reboot on the router.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2007, 12:21:22 pm »
Hi All,

I was hoping you could point me in the right direction. I have been trying to setup a LMCE system and test by booting a generic PC over the network and test.

My network is setup as follows:

Firewall: 192.168.2.1
MCE: 192.168.2.2
Clients: 192.168.2.5 - 254

LMCE is setup to run as a dhcp server with a scope of 192.168.2.5 to .254. It gives out the nameserver and gateway to be 192.168.2.1.

When trying to boot from PXE, when trying to mount nfs, I get connection read:connection refused.

When I added the MD, I added it in devices, put in the MAC address, updated, then "Setup Diskless MDs" and then did a quick reboot on the router.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.


I would not add MD's manually as a rule. LMCE will auto install a new pxe booted MD if you set the pxe boot options in the MD's bios correctly then hook it upto your network and power it up it should start to pxe boot and auto add itself.

If the MD does not add itself (ie pxe boot cannot get a response from the Core) then it is almost certainly because of a misconfiguration of your network or network setup.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

slice16

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2007, 12:35:02 pm »
Hi Andrew,

Thanks for your reply. I will try booting the MD tonight and let LMCE autoconfigure it. What should be setup in the root server IP address? I'm guessing that is the LMCE?

Thanks Paul

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2007, 01:37:30 pm »
One doesn't need to (nor should one) setup anything besides making the MD PXE boot.
LMCE will do everything automatically. (in most cases)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2007, 02:01:29 pm »
Hi Andrew,

Thanks for your reply. I will try booting the MD tonight and let LMCE autoconfigure it. What should be setup in the root server IP address? I'm guessing that is the LMCE?

Thanks Paul

As Hagen has already said this should all be automatic. If you have two network interfaces in your core then you need to make sure that the MD is connected to the LAN side interface and not the WAN side interface (ie the one facing your broadband connecttion). Hook the MD up and power it up... it will then 'announce' itself to the DCErouter and will run 'Setup_Diskless.sh' script. The MD will then sit there for 10 mins or so apparently not doing anything... some kind of progress indicator here would be reassuring. But once you have seen the process once you will understand whats happening... just be patient. Eventually the MD will reboot and this time will do its first true pxe boot and will then install lmce from the Core's cache. This also takes another 10-15 mins (but only this first time... subsequent reboots are much faster)

Eventually you will see the AVwizard and then the Setup Wizard etc etc... and then you are all set :-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2007, 02:05:15 pm »
The MD will then sit there for 10 mins or so apparently not doing anything... some kind of progress indicator here would be reassuring. But once you have seen the process once you will understand whats happening... just be patient.
This part took the better part of two hours when I used a PIV 1.7GHz 512MB as a core on 100Mb LAN.
(I just left the thing overnight back then, I have a new core waiting that should be a bit better)

slice16

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2007, 11:45:12 pm »
All working ok now, once I removed the MD and let LMCE set it all up automatically. Cheers all :D

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Unable to boot Media Director (Generic PC)
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2007, 01:28:59 am »
All working ok now, once I removed the MD and let LMCE set it all up automatically. Cheers all :D

 ;D Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk