Author Topic: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter  (Read 283440 times)

david_a_dawson

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« on: October 19, 2007, 04:31:08 pm »
How do,

I've been watching the forums for a while and I've seen feature requests for a mobile java orbiter appear every so often, with the occasional 'Yes, that sounds great, I'll get on it!'  Does anyone know if this is in progress?

I'm a very experienced java dev, including j2me, and I'd be happy to help with the effort, or start the effort if it's dead at the mo.

I'm a bit hazy about the remote orbiter architecture, and my C/C++ is decidedly ropey, so I can start to do this if someone is willing to give me a few pointers . .

Cheers,

David.

sandos

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
Re: Java/ J2ME mobile orbiter
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2007, 11:55:40 pm »
I have not seen any ref to anyone actually developing a j2me orbiter, so I should you should just go ahead and do it!

Sounds like a great idea, I would most likely use it. I wonder how capable j2me is though in the multimedia department... I guess with modern phones it shouldn't be a problem.

1audio

• Addicted
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2007, 09:19:59 am »
The mobile orbiter is a big project. I committed to pay an Indian developer with Symbian experience to port the mobile orbiter to Symbian series 3 and after 6 months he petered out. It was too much for him. The Pluto guys can give a lot of help in what is required and how it works.

The biggest problem is that the Orbiter is based on moving graphics across to the device. OK across a network. Lousy with bluetooth and not good over gprs.

However I'm ready to support such an effort. I bought on Nokia e50 I'll never see again for this so I'm serious about my support.

darrenmason

• Addicted
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2007, 01:54:51 am »
David,