Author Topic: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!  (Read 5008 times)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« on: October 14, 2007, 08:41:57 am »
------------------------------------------------------
Cisco XML Directory Patch for Pluto/LinuxMCE Web Admin
------------------------------------------------------

== Synopsis ==

This set of files adds a working Directory for your Cisco IP phone. It has been tested on my Cisco 7970 phone, but does not use any additional features, so it should work on any of the other Cisco IP phones that support XML services, such as the Cisco 7960.

It adds the following Features:

* Directory button now works!
* Works with Contacts from the Pluto phone directory
* Paginates them based on # of entries in phone book
* Shows the phone type.

Nice and simple.

== Installing this Patch ==

* Unpack the files to the pluto-admin directory. (/var/www/pluto-admin/)
* edit the file /tftpboot/SEPDefault7970.cnf.xml (it just needs to be the default xml for your cisco phone, adjust as needed.)
** Find the <directoryURL></directoryURL> tags, and place '''http://192.168.80.1/pluto-admin/directory.php''' between them.
* Reboot the phone by pressing the settings button, and pressing the following button sequence '''**#**'''

Once the phone boots, try the directory by pressing the Directory button!

If there are any problems, let me know --~~~~

Thom Cherryhomes - UNIT-E
thom.cherryhomes at gmail.com


PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 09:36:25 pm »
That's great!  Thanks for doing this.  Can you submit it to mantis so the devs can track the update.  I think that's the best system we've got right now.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2007, 09:41:22 pm »
bump, has anyone tried this besides the guy who wrote it? :P

-Thom

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2007, 02:57:13 am »
If I had the hardware I would have, but it seems that these are pretty expensive.  :-\
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2007, 11:20:51 am »
bump, has anyone tried this besides the guy who wrote it? :P

-Thom

I have tests of this SW scheduled for the first week in December.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2007, 02:01:25 pm »
bump, has anyone tried this besides the guy who wrote it? :P

-Thom

looked at the code, seems reasonable. What i see messing is some kind of a search functionality. Let's see if i find the time to implement it. I'll test the code these days.
The 7970 has some nice additional features. It plays/sends RTP streams, it should be easy to implement intercom, burglar voice bashing, announcements and so on..

regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2007, 02:05:45 pm »
I deliberately didn't implement the Search functionality. But if someone wishes to implement it, cool. I wanted to avoid the stupidity of having the search feature be the primary way to use the system, especially from the telephone. This is not an enterprise services directory, and should not be searched as such.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2007, 02:11:29 pm »
I deliberately didn't implement the Search functionality. But if someone wishes to implement it, cool. I wanted to avoid the stupidity of having the search feature be the primary way to use the system, especially from the telephone. This is not an enterprise services directory, and should not be searched as such.
you are absolutely right for a few entries. But my personal addressbook alone has at about 120 contacts. If i dig into this i will do some option switches or put the search function in the services menu...

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2007, 02:15:11 pm »
we could add a search to the main menu, in addition to the pagination that already happens.. have you tried it yet? It should split entries by 32.

-Thom

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2007, 03:51:04 pm »
we could add a search to the main menu, in addition to the pagination that already happens.. have you tried it yet? It should split entries by 32.

-Thom

i'll try it this evening.. YIPPPE, my DSL is back *ggg*

regards,
hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2007, 03:55:27 pm »
I already have an LDAP server running with a directory of contacts in it. Can I use this patch to connect to that existing directory?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2007, 03:59:58 pm »
nope, this was meant to use the Pluto contacts database.

-Thom

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2007, 04:05:13 pm »
nope, this was meant to use the Pluto contacts database.
Aha, well, my LDAP is just a front to a Postgres DB (via DB-link). Maybe another argument for porting LMCE from MySQL to Postgres. Or perhaps a better argument for setting up a MySQL datamart for Postgres data (perhaps via DB-link). I'm not dropping Postgres, because too many other existing apps depend on it.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2007, 04:10:15 pm »
I already have an LDAP server running with a directory of contacts in it. Can I use this patch to connect to that existing directory?
not this patch but the modifications are minor: simply exchange the mysql select with some kind of ldap_search and iterate through the result entries.

regards,
hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: NEW PATCH: Directory Button on Cisco 7970 DOES SOMETHING NOW!
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2007, 06:21:37 pm »
I already have an LDAP server running with a directory of contacts in it. Can I use this patch to connect to that existing directory?
not this patch but the modifications are minor: simply exchange the mysql select with some kind of ldap_search and iterate through the result entries.
Or perhaps change the MySQL select to a Postgres select. Or the ldap_search call you mention, as a start down the road towards a hybrid Postgres/MySQL glued together with the existing DB-link between LDAP and Postgres.

Any of the possible combinations among the three seem an equal balance of interface function and kluge :). I wish there were an app that generically synced different schemas in each of MySQL and Postgres, allowing queries on one to reach the other, without building the glue for each different schema.