Author Topic: Works! [Was: Recomended hardware doesn't work. Does anything?]  (Read 5727 times)

scorf

• View Profile
Works! [Was: Recomended hardware doesn't work. Does anything?]
« on: September 15, 2007, 07:05:59 am »
<Ignore this silly rant... I got it working, see posts below.>

I have a new Asus M2NPV-VM -- the recommended/tested/working motherboard used in the convincing video.  I spent over $1,000 on hardware -- all on the "recommended" list.  Today -- none of it works.

The component RGB didn't work -- it looked like the R of the RGB was disconnected.  I tried everything I know and everything from these forums and others.  Didn't work.

I am a unix admin, and have had a heck of a time even getting to the term prompt to test, vi, etc...  I still can't -- and am loosing interest.

Then I tried the DVI output thinking I could go from the DVI-D to HDMI of my Panny.  Looked pretty good at first... the wizard then asked me what sound options I wanted... I chose analog two speaker and that's where it eneded.  The Panny interface went black and my pc monitor showed the wizard screen back and where you choose your video options... only, you could only see about a 16th of the screen.  (What happened to the audio test?)

OK, so the RGB and the DVI didn't work on the recommended motherboard -- what did they use in the video? VGA?  (They don't say.)

I'm tired of this -- to those of you lurking, this doesn't work as advertised.  Look elsewhere.  Some of us will continue to waste our evenings and weekend to get a crappy conglomerate of programs working... but if you're looking for a media center... well, it aint here.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2007, 07:37:37 pm by scorf »

teedge77

• Addicted
    • View Profile
Re: Recomended hardware doesn't work. Does anything?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 07:23:43 am »
 :D
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express