Author Topic: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...  (Read 2255 times)

poyon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« on: October 03, 2007, 10:32:25 pm »
Hello,

I am very interesting to install LMCE in my home on standart PC. SO there is somewhere a schema whoch show exactly how to do? what must be connected and how to the core and to the MD?

Many thanks

Eric.
Mb AsRock P4VM900
P4 intel 2.6G
1G mem
hdd SATA 250 Gb MAXTOR STM325031
VGA ASUS 7300GS 256Mo - Driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.23-pkg1
SONY DVD RW DW-U14A
Carte Tv Hauppage wintv -  Bt878 Video Capture
usb dongle bluetooth
usb webcam Creative NX2

foneguy9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2007, 07:45:37 am »
Hey Eric,

I would ask, is this standard PC going to be DEDICATED as a LMCE (what is also known as a Hybrid, Core and Media Director combo) and have this LMCE connected Directly to your TV?

Can you describe how you want it to work in your scenario, so that we can better give you advice?


poyon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2007, 02:20:44 pm »
Thanks to reply :-)

I would like to install a CORE (which will also be used as web server and mysql) and some MD wiich I can connect a TV, sat receiver, sound, ...

On the Core I connect nothing except a card TV. :
Mb AsRock P4VM900
P4 intel 2.6G
1G mem
hdd SATA 250 Gb MAXTOR STM325031
VGA ASUS 7300GS 256Mo - Driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.23-pkg1
SONY DVD RW DW-U14A
Carte Tv Hauppage wintv -  Bt878 Video Capture
usb dongle bluetooth
usb webcam Creative NX2

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2007, 03:41:13 pm »
This should do it:

1. Obtain installation media.
2. Install on apropriate hardware
3. Work out how to configure properly, and do so.
4. Figure out how to use it to it's full potential and enjoy.
5. Amaze friends and family.


DISCLAIMER: Some of these steps might sound easier then they actually are.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


rancid_elf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2007, 03:46:57 pm »
Be careful which install you use and on what.  If you are going for a stand alone install ( use full hd ) then the dvd is fine.  If however you are intending on using dual boot and installing LMCE on a seperate partition be very carefull and make sure you use the cd's.  The dvd install will corrupt your main partition and not give you the option to select which partition you wish to install on.

So basically if you already have windows on your main partition and wish to install LMCE on teh second..DO NOT use the install dvd as it will corrupt the windows install.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2007, 03:54:19 pm »
The dvd install will corrupt your main partition and not give you the option to select which partition you wish to install on.

This is not entirely true, the DVD installer will not corrupt your main partition but remove it entirely as the whole disc is wiped.  This is clearly indicated on the download- as well as the installation-instructions in the wiki.  If you want the option to (re-)partition the drive, use the CD installer instead.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


rancid_elf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2007, 03:57:01 pm »
The dvd install will corrupt your main partition and not give you the option to select which partition you wish to install on.

This is not entirely true, the DVD installer will not corrupt your main partition but remove it entirely as the whole disc is wiped.  This is clearly indicated on the download- as well as the installation-instructions in the wiki.  If you want the option to (re-)partition the drive, use the CD installer instead.

Yes I found this out.  It was not clear on the dvd download section about this.  It is however possible to use the dvd as long as you modify the image to make sure the Kubunu install enters the option to select a partition for install.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2007, 04:04:54 pm »
It was not clear on the dvd download section about this. 

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Download_Instructions#Quick_Install_DVD
Quote
Note: this installer will erase all existing data from the selected hard drive.

Seems pretty clear to me.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


rancid_elf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2007, 04:17:37 pm »
It was not clear on the dvd download section about this. 

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Download_Instructions#Quick_Install_DVD
Quote
Note: this installer will erase all existing data from the selected hard drive.

Seems pretty clear to me.

Sorry but that is not clear.  It should be specified that existing partions will be destroyed.

In that description it refers to hard drive will be cleared, formatted etc.  The simple point is when refering to hard drives people sometimes do not realise that a partion is not the entire hard drive.

It should be explicitly pointed out that all partitions will be removed.




foneguy9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2007, 05:30:42 pm »
How's it goin' poyon?!?

Did you get your Core up and working? 

Do you have existing media on HDD already or do you need to convert it to data?  I'm wondering how the Core will take existing data off existing HDD as opposed to the Core doing the processing itself.

Any insight on your installation may help other poyon! 

Hope all goes well! ;D

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2007, 08:22:40 pm »
Sorry but that is not clear.  It should be specified that existing partions will be destroyed.

In that description it refers to hard drive will be cleared, formatted etc.  The simple point is when refering to hard drives people sometimes do not realise that a partion is not the entire hard drive.

It should be explicitly pointed out that all partitions will be removed.

I don't think it's our task to educate people on the misconceptions they have about drives and partitions.  The warning is clear and accurate, that you are unable to understand what it exactly means is an entirely different problem. 
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


poyon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2007, 09:14:38 pm »
hello everybody,

In fact I will install DVD on a pc for core and I would like to lan boot for a MD.
My question is how I must connect my media device (TV,sat, audio,...) to the MD. I don't have any serial input on the tv nor dvd nor audio.

If I install a PC-TV card in the Core, I could look tv on every MD?

Thanks.
Mb AsRock P4VM900
P4 intel 2.6G
1G mem
hdd SATA 250 Gb MAXTOR STM325031
VGA ASUS 7300GS 256Mo - Driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.23-pkg1
SONY DVD RW DW-U14A
Carte Tv Hauppage wintv -  Bt878 Video Capture
usb dongle bluetooth
usb webcam Creative NX2

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2007, 09:36:21 pm »
hello everybody,

In fact I will install DVD on a pc for core and I would like to lan boot for a MD.
My question is how I must connect my media device (TV,sat, audio,...) to the MD. I don't have any serial input on the tv nor dvd nor audio.

If I install a PC-TV card in the Core, I could look tv on every MD?

Thanks.


I guess your only option to control these devices is InfraRed remote.  And yes, the TV input will be shared across every media director in the system.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


rancid_elf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2007, 10:59:16 pm »
Sorry but that is not clear.  It should be specified that existing partions will be destroyed.

In that description it refers to hard drive will be cleared, formatted etc.  The simple point is when refering to hard drives people sometimes do not realise that a partion is not the entire hard drive.

It should be explicitly pointed out that all partitions will be removed.

I don't think it's our task to educate people on the misconceptions they have about drives and partitions.  The warning is clear and accurate, that you are unable to understand what it exactly means is an entirely different problem. 


Well coming from the software development industry myself I suppose I am very picky about things like that as we always try to cover for those with less knoledge than ourselves.   And in all honesty something slighty reworded which could avoid any missunderstanding could save someone a big headache.  But hey from your replies it seems that you dont really care about things like that.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 11:08:14 pm by rancid_elf »

poyon

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Install LMCE and connect to TV,...
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2007, 11:12:41 pm »
thanks. What must I connect to MD to controle my media via IR?
my sat decoder is a Dreambox (linux receiver) with a serial, usb, ... maybe I linuxMCE can interact with it?
Is someone know this?
Mb AsRock P4VM900
P4 intel 2.6G
1G mem
hdd SATA 250 Gb MAXTOR STM325031
VGA ASUS 7300GS 256Mo - Driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-100.14.23-pkg1
SONY DVD RW DW-U14A
Carte Tv Hauppage wintv -  Bt878 Video Capture
usb dongle bluetooth
usb webcam Creative NX2