Author Topic: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin  (Read 1424 times)

dubs420

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« on: September 25, 2007, 01:58:46 am »
Im working with a fresh install from the cd roms " first install"
Im trying to login to the LinuxMCE admin
It is asking for a user and password
Ive tried everything and i cant login
any way to reset in the config or is there somthing im missing? >:( ???

dubs420

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 03:11:02 am »
ive found this
newbielink:http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Reset_the_password_for_the_LinuxMCE_Admin_site [nonactive]
it refers me to login to the console
i cant login there ether?

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2007, 03:37:51 pm »
rule #1
Pay attention during install  ;)

Your username is the first LMCE user you added, the password is also the first LMCE user you added

dubs420

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2007, 12:11:23 am »
well that info doesnt work. how can i login to the console?

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2007, 09:42:15 am »
You asked what you needed to log in to the admin site...
I told you.

for the console you could try linuxmce as user and pass.
For the Kubuntu install it's the user and password you entered when you installed kubuntu.
That is also the password you are asked to put in when starting the install and starting LMCE if you chose to start LMCE from the Kubuntu desktop.

Did that help?

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2007, 05:20:26 am »
I too had some trouble logging in to LinuxMCE web admin panel.

I DID read the Install prompts but my username and password didnt work.

I tried

username/username

username/password

linuxmce/linuxmce

root/password

and a bunch or others. I recommend doing the password reset as follows if you cant log in, must be a bug. Before you can run these commands you will need to goto your user accounts and enable root then change the password to something you know.

   
Code: [Select]

su root

mysql pluto_main

   select * FROM Users;

You will see a list of the users in the database. Then type in this:

   update Users set Password=md5("mypassword") where UserName="myusername";
   quit;

Where mypassword is the new password and myusername is the username.

FlipC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2007, 08:18:38 am »
Its not a bug just SHITTY ASS WIKIs

The login is the name you used and the password is ALSO the name you used!
WTF - DASIFAM!

Now if I can get this to use my other internal HD's ...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2007, 01:42:59 pm »
Its not a bug just SHITTY ASS WIKIs

The login is the name you used and the password is ALSO the name you used!
WTF - DASIFAM!

Now if I can get this to use my other internal HD's ...

Its all clearly stated... but as usual people just never read whats presented to them ;-)

When you are in the House Setup Wizard it clearly explains that the 'First' user you create has full management writes for the Web Admin interface to your Core and that the login/pass is the user you created as the login and also as the password. Later you can change those and also add more users or change any users access/privileges from within Web Admin

Enjoy!
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

picuru

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2007, 02:01:46 pm »
Hello

I had the same problem

the user and password are the same than the first user but be careful because both name and pass are case sensitive

Hope that helps

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Cant login to LinuxMCE Admin
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2007, 02:28:42 pm »
Its not a bug just SHITTY ASS WIKIs

The login is the name you used and the password is ALSO the name you used!
WTF - DASIFAM!

Now if I can get this to use my other internal HD's ...
Had you actually bothered to look around you might have found: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Logging_In

It's inDUHviduals like you that make it all worthwhile. ::) 
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous