Author Topic: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter  (Read 1072 times)

RDAC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« on: September 26, 2007, 04:24:04 am »
Don't know what happened today, got my first orbiter up and running, sat back, ripped a disc, had a great time. Went and rebooted the box, now the orbiter won't connect for anything, and even reinstalling the orbiter package on my tablet PC gives the same "Failed to Connect" loop.

Any ideas before I format this thing and start over?

RDAC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2007, 04:47:29 am »
Well, I think I broke it, I can't be sure. Can't log into the admin page unless I'm doing it from the main box, so down it goes.

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2007, 10:54:00 am »
do a backup first, this could be the first signs of something wrong with your MySQL.
That was the sympthoms I experienced, and on the next reboot the thing just wouldn't start. reported MySQL as missing.
I did a full reinstall, not a big deal really, but the house network is in a bit of turmoil while swapping DHCP servers back and forth  ;)

RDAC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2007, 07:19:42 pm »
Wiped and rebuilt it, same issue. Checked my main router, turned off the firewall, same result. Any ideas, folks?

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2007, 08:06:53 pm »
Does it ask you whether to reboot as well?  I think I might have had the same issue with my test hybrid last night.  When I told it not to reboot (the second time around) it started up just fine, but I haven't restarted since.  I figured I just broke something.  Either way it's odd that you are experiencing problems right after a fresh install.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


RDAC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2007, 02:59:14 am »
I'll try rebooting the router while it's up, but yeah, so far no success.

RDAC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiters broken...can't seem to connect to dcerouter
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2007, 05:52:46 am »
Reboot of router had no affect on the orbiters. Still stuck like Chuck.