Author Topic: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?  (Read 3910 times)

Seeker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« on: September 25, 2007, 04:50:44 pm »
I'm trying to get OpenGL with overlay (medium) to work with my RadeOn 9800XT.

I know its not nVidia and its fairly old, but it's also a reasonably fast GFX compared to age and presumed requirements for running OpenGL with overlay.

What is the specific req's for running OpenGL with overlay?
Can the 9800TX chip do that (why not?)?
And if so, what am I doing wrong.

Using DVD quickinstall of 0704, got static images working, but OpenGL just give errors when i try to start the MS.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2007, 08:33:54 am »
The ATI drivers don't support the extension necessary to run that UI. Bug the ATI guys. I saw that they are opening the driver up so it may become possible to get everything working. But not for a while.

Seeker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2007, 09:25:09 am »
OK? I thought that it was only Alpha blend that ATI has issues with??

Are you sure that even overlay is impossible with ATI? I can find any docu to back it.

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2007, 09:29:18 am »
There was a post here claiming to run an ATI Rage 128 with UI2 overlay.
Not excactly the 9800, but that is as close as I can come to helping, sorry.

Seeker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2007, 09:56:14 am »
Not excactly the 9800, but that is as close as I can come to helping, sorry.

Thanks that helped (got some search options and found a bunch of other threads that i for some reason didn't find before ?!?).

Looks like your should consider you self lucky if you get passed "low" setting with a ATI, but it is possible for some.

Damn, looks like I'll have to get a nVidia 6xxx, thou I'm still open for suggestions if anyone have any thoughts.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2007, 10:51:02 am »
UI2 Overlay (medium, no alpha blending) works fine with a Radeon 98000 Pro.  I'd add it to the wiki if it wasn't for certain people not tolerating my additions.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Seeker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2007, 11:54:21 am »
Did you do any driver fiddling or just use the std?

I'm considering trying out the proprietary ATI/Linux or at least trying some alternatives.

Also considering dropping the Quick install to ensure GFX compatibility before i try to run on LMCE, don't know if that'll make any kinda difference.



Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2007, 12:27:54 pm »
I installed the ati proprietary drivers "the ubuntu way", see "Display Drivers" in the wiki for links on that.  There are several ways to configure it.  Manually works best but is also the hardest.

The latest way I tried was to configure it with the "System Settings" tool in KDE.  Just stop LMCE first and close the "Launch Manager", set it up to your liking (I'm using 1600x1200 on a big old monitor), make a backup of the xorg.conf file and then start LMCE up again.  Much to my surprise the settings stuck after a reboot (however you might not be so lucky).
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Seeker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: HW req for OpenGL with overlay (medium)?
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2007, 01:13:07 pm »
Groovy!
Thanks for the pointers