Author Topic: BusyBox error  (Read 1557 times)

Fredrich

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
BusyBox error
« on: September 22, 2007, 12:39:10 pm »
After chosing install it goes into this error message:

newbielink:http://bildr.no/view/106515 [nonactive]

With both LinuxMCE DVD and Kubuntu 7.04 DVD.

Anyone?

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: BusyBox error
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 01:41:07 pm »
What hardware are you installing on?

You might want to check the (K)ubuntu forums and wikis for this problem as well, since it doesn't seem to be specific to LMCE.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


foneguy9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: BusyBox error
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2007, 05:41:48 am »
Hi Fredrich!!

Got the same error using 0704 DVD:'(

Also, Got the following prior to what you see on your screen shot:

udevd-event [1910]: run_program: '/sbin/modprobe' abnormal exit

I have an older system

Asus MB P4533 (BIOS Award V1.0A)

P4 2000Mz

1 Gig Memory

40 Gig Drive and

160 Gig Drive.

Dedicated to LMCE. 
« Last Edit: September 24, 2007, 05:44:48 am by foneguy9 »

foneguy9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: BusyBox error
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2007, 08:58:33 am »
Hi!

So you'all know, after installing an ADDITIONAL PCI Network card, MY installation has continued!!!!

At first, I would only see the Buntu Splash screen with just a sliver on the left activated, then the errors mentioned above.

But now, I'ma at the Welcome to AV Wizard Step 0!!!!!!

 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I'm very pleased and easily pleased with ANY progress! :P

deli.ds

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: BusyBox error
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2007, 11:07:07 am »
I have exactly the same problem, and it was resolved in (almost) the same way.
After running installer, machine rebooted. Ubuntu splashscreen appeared and the blue bar froze a fraction of the way along. Then, after waiting for some time, the BusyBox error appeared.

I disabled the nic built into my M848A motherboard, installed a pci nic, reran the installer, and got to the a/v setup page. :D

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: BusyBox error
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2007, 12:58:39 pm »
That sounds like Kubuntu is choking on certain network chipsets then.  Good to keep in mind, thanks for reporting back with a fix.  Maybe others that run into this can report their hardware as well to get an idea which specific chipsets have problems.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous