Author Topic: Screen resizes during initial setup  (Read 1790 times)

vastdigital

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Screen resizes during initial setup
« on: September 19, 2007, 03:15:58 pm »
Hi,

I am an experienced system builder but Linux and LinuxMCE is a new experience so forgive my ignorance.

After MCE starts and you are presented with the green setup options, the process works fine until you select the type of audio connection. When you have done this, setup restarts with the picture 4x the size it should be leaving only the top left of the screen visible. If you just hit enter a few times it obviously moves through the setup process and arrives at the MCE setup desktop which is sized almost correctly, but the image quality is really bad (very grainy, text is very crude). I am assuming that there is some issue with the graphics driver. Our test machine has an 8600GT card in it. Nvidia do drivers for Linux. Should I attempt to use these?

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2007, 03:22:14 pm »
what resolution did you pick? did you tell it to use the nvidia drivers during the LinuxMCE installation? Did it even ask? it could be that your card is too new and i think i heard that the 8XXX cards werent as well supported as the 6XXX and 7XXX. try looking at the drivers page in the wiki and searching around here.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

vastdigital

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2007, 03:25:50 pm »
Thanks,

It didn't ask for the drivers. I will start searching for them!

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2007, 06:50:29 pm »
as a notice.. guys... try at least one install with the CD's, if the DVDs do not properly install... the DVD is essentially a frozen image of a system just before the AVWizard starts, so if your hardware setup doesn't jive exactly, weird..things..will...happen...

-Thom

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2007, 01:37:16 am »
vastdigital,

I had a similar issue on the install of a MD that I did - it was caused by selecting a resolution that was too big for the monitor. The video card supported it but the monitor dealt with it by making a virtual screen and only using the resolution that it supported.
I have no idea why that would be triggered by the audio part of the setup though :(


hobbes487

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2007, 09:01:38 pm »
vastdigital,

I had a similar issue on the install of a MD that I did - it was caused by selecting a resolution that was too big for the monitor. The video card supported it but the monitor dealt with it by making a virtual screen and only using the resolution that it supported.
I have no idea why that would be triggered by the audio part of the setup though :(



I am having the same problem with an MD I just added.  When I go through the audio video wizard, the resolution starts out ok, but as soon as I select a resolution I get strange things happening.  Mostly what happens is the resolution is stretched past the left side of the screen.  Even when I try to make adjustments in the wizard this happens.  I am using the onboard nvidia 6150 video and a 16:9 projector.

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2007, 09:04:31 pm »
so it becomes wider than 16X9? do you move the arrows so they show completely on the screen?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

hobbes487

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2007, 09:39:44 pm »
yes, it is wider than 16:9.  in order to see all the arrows i have to shrink the screen and shift it to the right, but then there is space at the top and bottom.

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2007, 09:48:39 pm »
so after you do all that it still displays off the left edge? space at the top and bottom? i would think the space would be on the sides....that sounds more like cinema wide if theres space at the top and bottom. can you draw up a little graphic aid or take a picture or something? sorry if im being dumb...just trying to make sure i understand it correctly. what should the reolution be on it? are you using 1080?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

hobbes487

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2007, 10:12:18 pm »
Actually when I am adjusting the arrows, there is space on top and bottom, but when the wizard is done it just goes back to filling the whole screen with the extra off to the left.  The native resolution of the projector is 854x480.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2007, 10:17:39 pm »
You might want to try and edit the xorg.conf by hand to specify that native resolution, see: http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Display_Drivers for some more info on that.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


hobbes487

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2007, 05:12:18 am »
I just reset the MD and selected 480p as the resolution.  I am realizing now that the screen is just shifted to the left.  This normally wouldn't be a problem with most monitors, because you can shift it with the monitor settings, but my projector doesn't allow for this.  Is there any way i can shift the screen over?

I tried in the audio/video setup wizard, but everything looks fine in the wizard, but once it reboots after i close the wizard it is back to being shifted over.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Screen resizes during initial setup
« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2007, 12:28:01 pm »
I just reset the MD and selected 480p as the resolution.  I am realizing now that the screen is just shifted to the left.  This normally wouldn't be a problem with most monitors, because you can shift it with the monitor settings, but my projector doesn't allow for this.  Is there any way i can shift the screen over?

I tried in the audio/video setup wizard, but everything looks fine in the wizard, but once it reboots after i close the wizard it is back to being shifted over.
Yep, by editing the "modelines" in the xorg.conf file. 
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous