Author Topic: My LinuxMCE Problems  (Read 2329 times)

Orbit45244

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
My LinuxMCE Problems
« on: September 18, 2007, 11:00:41 pm »
Hello Everyone!
First, I would like to say, LinuxMCE is a great product. Keep up the good work. But I am running into some problems. The 7074 Quick Install DVD installed fine, but after I booted up the system, I ran into some problems. Instead of creating separate threads for all of them, I will detail my problems in this single thread.

So here's my problems:

1.The Update Mechanism is a little iffy, sometimes the screen comes up without buttons, when it comes up with buttons I press 'Yes', but it doesn't update on reboot. The update screen's come up 10 times, and I've only been able to successfully update once.

2.My PCHDTV HD-5500 card is not detected, I don't know how to install it, and the drivers I downloaded won't compile.

3.The Ark archiver gives me wierd errors about missing files in archives, even though I know they're all there.

4.I don't know how to install my USB-UIRT.

5.Lastly, the App Server and MythTV Player won't startup/register. Thus, they don't work.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance. I've attatched the various logs to my post.

Sincerely,
Orbit

thoth

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2008, 10:34:33 am »
Sorry to see you haven't gotten any help. I too own a pchdtv card (3000 though), and I don't see it listed either in the input devices.  "modprobe cx88-dvb" gets the card to show up in lspci.  Have you gotten any further with any of this?  Was considering purchasing the uirt, have you gotten any progress there as well?

Josh

tehnoobie

  • Guest
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2008, 11:04:43 pm »
did you read the wiki before you bought stuff?  i don't see your pchd card anywhere, ther usbuirt is plug and play.  as far as myth not starting up, it won't start up until you have things configed right.  im a total noobie to linux, so im probably no help to you but i know how frustrating it can be when nobody posts back.  just a question because im curious,  why are you using a capture card when you have a usbuirt, you can just control the cable box and have the same thing (assuming you have a dvr).  myth is weird and quirky not to mention a royal pain in the arss to set up right, don't get me wrong its nice when you do but seriously you have to really want tv coming through your computer to set it up.  i would just use lmce as a glorified ur assuming you bought a vga card with overlay.  unless your trying to do the whole small client stuff in which you will have to set it up the way your going.  So if your a glutton for punishment start with pluto, make sure that admin web site sees all the devices your trying to use.  As far as i can tell almost everything is plug and play with lmce it's getting it set up right is the pain.  start with setup wizard as well if things don't work right after the setup wizard as far as resolution, sound and devices that you know are plug and play, your doing something wrong.  your capture card is deffinately not plug and play, that is going to be the toughy.  read the mythtv wiki to get that setup right, you should be able to see fuzz regardless of your capture card not working correctly.  and watch the demo video many times, im telling you that guy gives you all the info you need to get things going in the right direction.  hope that helps
 :-\

thoth

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2008, 11:43:12 pm »
That's the weird thing mythTV completely supports the pchdtv card, but I can't get mythTV under linuxmce to use it correctly.  I've got another drive in my box with gentoo on it and everything works there.  The cx88-dvb module is loaded under 'lsmod'.  And when I run mythsetup it seems to be configured correctly, but when I start mythtv every five seconds or so it pops up saying something about it using the capture device already.  It's really rather annoying as it drops you back to the main myth menu every five seconds regardless of where you were in the interface of myth.  I'm going to retrace my steps and figure this one out.

tehnoobie

  • Guest
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2008, 11:54:58 pm »
ok try this, that happened to me as well its a myth setup thing.  go computing, mythsetup, go to capture cards and make sure your input isn't set to none.  if it is then you have go to inputs, make input and go through the setup.  make sure you have something to choose other than none.  when i make my mythsetup it finally came up with a blank option.  choose that then you should a whole slew of new problems. yaay! ;D

thoth

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2008, 09:02:48 am »
Dang it, you seem to contradict yourself.  Should I set the mythsetup's capture cards to none, or as a DVB card?  At one point you said "make sure you have something to choose other than none" which would indicate it should be set.  But then next sentence you indicate it should be set to nothing "when i make my mythsetup it finally came up with a blank option.  choose that then".  So my question is - should it be set to none, or set it to something?  [I just tried on linuxMCE either way and with both myth still isn't showing any signal from the card, but gentoo does when booted to my old setup, any suggestions?]

tehnoobie

  • Guest
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2008, 08:29:54 pm »
Dang it, you seem to contradict yourself.  Should I set the mythsetup's capture cards to none, or as a DVB card?  At one point you said "make sure you have something to choose other than none" which would indicate it should be set.  But then next sentence you indicate it should be set to nothing "when i make my mythsetup it finally came up with a blank option.  choose that then".  So my question is - should it be set to none, or set it to something?  [I just tried on linuxMCE either way and with both myth still isn't showing any signal from the card, but gentoo does when booted to my old setup, any suggestions?]

ok, first make sure that you choose the right kind of capture card.  it should tell you the model number underneath that little dropdown menu when you select what type it is.  once you've done that go to input connections, then new connection.  you should be able to select an input that has no name, it should NOT say none.  once you've done that (make sure your using the keyboard and not the mouse to select finish, it does not like the mouse you will just go in circles if you use the mouse.)  check mythtv to see if you have fuzz or screen if your lucky. if so then you should know the rest. if not then you did not install the card right, make sure the device is in pluto, if it is delete it and start over.   hope that helps

chuckfox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2008, 01:43:53 pm »
Orbit,
I have been installing...re-installing linuxmce for quite some time now I currently have the latest beta running as a hybrid with a PCHDTV-5500 installed.  I am by no means a linux expert, but playing with linuxmce has helped me alot.

Hardware
Cheap ECS MOBO + intel dual core + 1 gig mem + 120gig PATA hard drive.
1. After a fresh install I navigate to the KDE desktop, then open up a terminal to add a line to /etc/modules to load the cx88-dvb module on startup.
Heres the line to type into the terminal to bring the file up for modification.
kate /etc/modules

This will bring up /etc/modules which is mostly empty.  Add the line below on a new line and save the file.
cx88-dvb

2. After saving the file I then goto settings and click on MythTV Backend Setup -mythtv-setup.
This will get you a dialog box that will tell you that you need to be added to a user group(Not sure of the exact wording here).
Click OK.  At this point reboot your machine.(you can use "sudo reboot" without the quotes, at the command line.

3.  After reboot navigate to the KDE desktop and goto settings and click on MythTV Backend Setup -mythtv-setup.
You should be able to enter mythtvsetup at this point and set up capture cards.

4. Set up capture card -You want to pick DVB DTV capture card(v3.x)  NOT pcHDTV DTV capture card(w/V4L drivers).
When done you should see a capture card [DVB:0] listed.

5. Set up a video source. I have two video sources, one is Digital and one is analog.  I subscride to SchedulesDirect to grab the channel data.  For both, the Channel frequency table is set to us-cable.(I'm not sure about the PCHDTV-3000, but the 5500 has digital and analog tuners).

6.  Set up Input Connections.  I set up two connections Digital and analog.
Digital -choose [DVB:0](DVBInput) -> Digital, add the digital video source you created earlier.  Click scan for channels.  Select; full scan, cable high, Cable (QAM-256) [If you are connected to cable, otherwise pick the one that applies to you], I like the period to seperate channels and Minimal Updates as the last option.
Click next and you should see Scan progress with a mostly(hopefully) full signal meter.  Let the scan finish and move on to the analog channels.
Analog -choose [V4L:dev/video0](Televison) ->analog, add the analog video source you created earlier.  Same process as digital, only scan for cable instead of cable high.  This scan should run alot quicker.  After both scans I click Fetch channels from listing source, to add the channel data.

7.  This should get your card working if there are no other conflicts.  Here are some things that caught me up along the way. 

 -The admin password for the latest beta is linuxmce.  You will need to input this a few times, it took me a few minutes of RTFM to find this one.

 -For some reason when exiting myth backend setup the dialog box that asks if I would like to run mythfilldatabase, would not run mythfilldatabase when clicking OK.  To resolve this, open a command line and type sudo mythfilldatabase to run the program.

I hope this helps to get you started.

Chuck






 

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2008, 03:40:56 pm »
Would you mind putting that in the wiki?  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/PcHDTV_HD5500
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: My LinuxMCE Problems
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2008, 04:12:34 pm »
Would you mind putting that in the wiki?  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/PcHDTV_HD5500

I pasted those instructions into the wiki article in place of the link to this discussion. If this discussion indicates revisions to that article, (anyone) please make them.