Author Topic: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?  (Read 4900 times)

passive

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« on: September 15, 2007, 10:09:45 pm »
Hi All,

I've just installed LinuxMCE 7.04 on my home server. I do plan to hook it up to my TV eventually, but currently it is just sitting with no screen attached. I would like to be able to get some kind of remote desktop/VNC/etc. support. Is there anything of this type built-in?
If not, would a standard (K)ubuntu guide to installing that kind of thing be appropriate?

Thanks.


1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 11:22:58 pm »
If you know the IP address you can access the admin panel through a browser. You can also ssh in with Putty. And access through Winscp. What more do you want to do?

sp00nhead

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2007, 11:14:17 am »
if you ssh in and then
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install x11vncthis will install an x11 to vnc software which lets you send your screen to a vnc client. I've never tryed but you should be able to set this up to auto run on boot, so you could vnc to your box
Also i think KDE has a setting for desktop sharing, but only when it runs so might not work as lmce runs before the kde desktop loads.

google for x11vnc and see if its what your after.

schaferj

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 05:57:38 pm »
hello,

I tried the standard one included with kubuntu lmce (from windows box) and it seems to work a while when the orbiter is running, but dies when I try to switch to kde desktop.

Anyone have luck with anything else?

thanks,
joseph

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2007, 06:13:11 pm »
There really is no need for any of that.  Orbiters run fine remotely without VNC or any other kind of remote desktop.  Heck there is even a web-orbiter.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


schaferj

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2007, 08:01:51 pm »
Hello Zarec,

Thanks for the quick response.

I've used the web orbiter and observed its limitations - some highlighted in
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=1846

My requirement was not remote operations & admin / maint of lmce per se, rather remote o&m of the kubuntu box on which the lmce core is running so that I could remotely install (non-lmce-conflicting) apps.

Goal is to enable (if relatively simple & straightforward) this one box to be the main home server with samba serving up 'single sign on' pdc authentication for linux and windows clients.  Also would like to go greener and reduce physical 24/7 servers by moving robust security & privacy apps (squid, dans guardian, etc) to this kubuntu box.

thanks,
joseph

« Last Edit: September 17, 2007, 08:04:12 pm by schaferj »

gletscher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2007, 10:09:50 pm »
to install apps just sudo apt-get install, no?

atreidae

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2007, 03:25:07 pm »
*ahem*
Thread resurection.
Purly because I searched the forums for info and found none :P

vncserver comes installed by defaul on the quickinstall DVD, cant vouch for the others however.
Very easy to setup.
ssh into your box (u:linuxmce p:linuxmce on the quickdvd) and just kick off "vncserver"
key in a password and grab a viewer (like realvnc or tightvnc viewer) and connect to dcerouter:1 (vnc will open a session on screen 1 by default, you can specifiy a million options)


Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ vncserver

You will require a password to access your desktops.

Password:
Verify:

New 'X' desktop is dcerouter:1

Creating default startup script /home/linuxmce/.vnc/xstartup
Starting applications specified in /home/linuxmce/.vnc/xstartup
Log file is /home/linuxmce/.vnc/dcerouter:1.log

linuxmce@dcerouter:~$

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2007, 03:49:30 pm »
hey thats great...you should add that to the wiki. it seems like people new to linux and used to windows dont like the idea of using SSH and a command prompt/terminal to do things. although...in a way....i think this might be a form of "enabling"....cause if you look at posts from some of the big people on here, it really is much quicker and more powerful once you get the hang of it.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

atreidae

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Any kind of remote desktop/VNC support?
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2007, 04:22:50 pm »
I had to get used to SSH very quicky once i started looking after debian servers, these things are lucky if they ever get to run X
moving files about etc is a real pain however (midnight commander("mc") for the win)