Author Topic: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities  (Read 1461 times)

tracyanne

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
LinuxMCE Version 0704, is incapable of of setting the latitude and longditude of Sydney, Brisbane or Melbourne.

Additionally it is incapable of seeting a resolution of 1680 x 1024, which is the resolution of my 22" flat panel monitor.

I'm not in the least impressed.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 02:16:27 pm »
Must be flame-bait day again...  ::)
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


delta_9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2007, 04:19:12 pm »
Zaerc cannot help but say something rude to some one who is new it is just his style. worthless as the above comment is (made by Zaerc) i think what he is trying to say is some thing like this read before you post LinuxMCE is not complete so do not expect the world from it. in my experience and it is limited linuxmce is fun to play with. but is so far from seamless i laugh every time i see the demo video.

im in Australia and im just glad they even put our country in as an option.like whats the point we lose all the usefull features as there is no EPG in this shit hole (bar http://www.icetv.com.au/ and i am not payin for that ) 

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2007, 08:25:14 pm »
1) You can manually enter longitude and latitude.
2) Your monitor is a PC format, not a standard video format. The goal was to support standard video displays, not so much computer monitors. You can manually edit the xorg.conf to match your monitor and it should work OK. Just don't run the video wizard or it will reset to the available options. The ones that were probematic like 1080i and 1080p were removed.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2007, 09:50:56 pm »
delta_9 - check out oztivo, it is free, you just need to set it up (as you would with ice)

tracyanne

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2007, 12:10:55 am »
Quote
n this shit hole (bar newbielink:http://www.icetv.com.au/ [nonactive] and i am not payin for that )

$100 a friggin year.

It would be nice though if the yanks that put this thing together weren't so Northern hemisphere centric (read US centric), just like their proprietary cousins. Sometimes one wonders if one's part of the world really exists, and isn't just a figment of one's imagination.

I don't know how to edit xconf.org, and this distribution was touted as being really really easy to instal, that's why I chose it.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4543
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2007, 01:47:23 am »
Quote
n this shit hole (bar http://www.icetv.com.au/ and i am not payin for that )

$100 a friggin year.

It would be nice though if the yanks that put this thing together weren't so Northern hemisphere centric (read US centric), just like their proprietary cousins. Sometimes one wonders if one's part of the world really exists, and isn't just a figment of one's imagination.

I don't know how to edit xconf.org, and this distribution was touted as being really really easy to instal, that's why I chose it.

Instead of moaning about it... encourage some OZ based developers to fix the issues. You can't blame the guys who developed lmce for not knowing what you guys need.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tracyanne

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2007, 02:17:01 am »
I would have thought Latitude and Longditude for Major Australian cities, and other County's major cities, was obvious, as the same data is needed for Major American cities. If they need help then I'll post the data for them.

The monitor resolution isn't really an issue, it makes sense what they've done there.

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Incapable of setting Latitude and Logditute for Major Australian cities
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2007, 03:02:41 am »
On the subject of lat/long for OZ cities - I am sure that this used to pick this up under Pluto so not sure why it doesn't now. Is it really a major issue?

On the subject of guide data, google for "mythtv shepard" and I think you will be happy. It requires a bit of setup work but you will have guide data. It pulls in guide data from a number of Australian sources (including oztivo).