Author Topic: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid  (Read 2076 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« on: September 10, 2007, 06:52:48 pm »
Anyone else not getting any images displayed in the screensaver of their Hybrids Orbiter? There are images in the Flickr directory for each day... and we see them on the MD's. Any ideas on this?
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 07:56:29 pm »
I have seen something like this happen on my hybrid (it's using UI1), showed a black screen instead when the screensaver kicks in.  I don't recall changing anything so I think it was just a temporary fluke, but I do reboot a lot to switch back and forth to other installs so maybe that "fixed" it.  Or maybe it was one of the older installations I use for messing about.  If I run into it again I'll try and take a closer look what might be causing that.

Is the #####.LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh_## screen-session running?
Are there errors in the /var/log/pluto/##_LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh.log file?
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2007, 12:40:44 am »
I have seen something like this happen on my hybrid (it's using UI1), showed a black screen instead when the screensaver kicks in.  I don't recall changing anything so I think it was just a temporary fluke, but I do reboot a lot to switch back and forth to other installs so maybe that "fixed" it.  Or maybe it was one of the older installations I use for messing about.  If I run into it again I'll try and take a closer look what might be causing that.

Is the #####.LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh_## screen-session running?
Are there errors in the /var/log/pluto/##_LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh.log file?


We are running UI1 but I can't see any errors in the logs. I'll keep an eye on them though thanks.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2007, 02:20:03 pm »
It doesn't matter what UI you use. Check also media director properties on the admin site: Wizard --> Media :: "Software modules". There is a check box which control the screen server (I switched it off to save HDD space and PC resources).
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2007, 02:50:12 pm »
It doesn't matter what UI you use. Check also media director properties on the admin site: Wizard --> Media :: "Software modules". There is a check box which control the screen server (I switched it off to save HDD space and PC resources).

The screen saver setting is in; Web Admin ->Wizard -> Devices -> Media Directors - Software Modules

However this is set to 'on' by default. MD's seem to be ok but our Hybrid Core's never seem to display any screen saver images even though the screensaver setting is switched to on.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2007, 02:35:15 pm »
All our Core's are Intel graphics based and most have been installed from the DVD iso. It looks like nVidia-glx is getting loaded in error and then when the screen saver tries to load images it fails because it can't load GLX (but the graphics are Intel based!).

Not sure how this happened but its possibly because the machine that the DVD iso was built on had an nVidia installed. Anyway remove nvidia-glx and then restart X and the screen saver works again!

Do;
sudo apt-get remove --purge nvidia-glx
« Last Edit: September 28, 2007, 04:52:24 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2007, 02:58:58 pm »
That could also explain why I saw it, as I was no doubt messing about, probably trying to get another (non-nvidia) chipset configured, at the time.  Thanks for clearing it up.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2007, 04:15:32 pm »
again, I am gonna ask, are you running UI2 with alpha blending? if so, you're being subjected to the same goofy thing I've noticed on the hybrids, where the windows aren't stacking properly. change to UI2 with Masking and i'll bet you see your flickr images.

in the mean time, how the hell do we fix this?

-Thom

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2007, 04:33:04 pm »
I have seen something like this happen on my hybrid (it's using UI1), ...
We are running UI1 but I can't see any errors in the logs...

...
Anyway remove nvidia-glx and then restart X and the screen saver works again!

Excuse me, but doesn't that answer your questions?  Not sure what you mean by "again" though...
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2007, 04:50:30 pm »
again, I am gonna ask, are you running UI2 with alpha blending? if so, you're being subjected to the same goofy thing I've noticed on the hybrids, where the windows aren't stacking properly. change to UI2 with Masking and i'll bet you see your flickr images.

in the mean time, how the hell do we fix this?

-Thom


No... UI1... you can't run UI2 on an Intel graphics based motherboard. What you seeing under UI2 on Hybrid/Core's must be another similar but different problem.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2007, 04:51:52 pm »
oops, sorry! my bad...

yeah, it must be a similar problem... hm..

-Thom

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2007, 11:01:24 pm »
After doing a fresh install on my test machine, the flickr images aren't showing up again.  So I looked in the #####.LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh_28 screen session:

Code: [Select]
+ snc='\033[1;00m'
+ swc='\033[1;33m'
+ scc='\033[1;31m'
+ rc='\033[1;00m'
+ sc='\033[1;00m'
+ [[ 1 == \2 ]]
+ [[ 1 == \3 ]]
+ TERM=linux
+ printf '1\t11/14/07 20:26:59\t28 (spawning-device)\t\033[1;00mFound ./LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh\033[1;00m\n'
+ printf '1\t11/14/07 20:26:59\t28 (spawning-device)\t\033[1;00mFound ./LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh\033[1;00m\n'
1       11/14/07 20:26:59       28 (spawning-device)    Found ./LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh
+ [[ LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh != *Spawn_Device* ]]
+ [[ '' == *\L\a\u\n\c\h\P\h\o\t\o\_\S\c\r\e\e\n\_\S\a\v\e\r\.\s\h* ]]
+ /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Wrapper.sh ./LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh -d 28 -r 127.0.0.1 -l /var/log/pluto/28_LaunchPhoto_Screen_Saver.sh.log
Photo_Screen_Saver, v.2.0.0.44.0709022200
Visit www.plutohome.com for source code and license information

Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".

Looks like it's indeed related to the video drivers and/or setup thereof (not that I doubted that).  When manually starting LMCE the launchmanager complains about VESA drivers and asks whether to fix that for me but I'm not falling for that one again (as it won't be able to anyway) so I answer no to avoid the useless reboot.  I guess it's another example of LMCE being geared way to much towards nVidia.

I'm a bit busy testing a few other things at the moment, but I'll give the fix a spin lateron just to confirm it.  I probably fixed it before by manually installing and configuring the display drivers come to think of it.

"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2007, 01:05:43 am »
I have seen a similar problem where not only does the flickr window not show but also when I start TV it doesn't show (don't recall on video) .  It seems at least in my case the window becomes disconnected from the main orbiter, but if I go to the kde desktop I can see both the filckr window and the TV window.
I am mot sure if this is the same problem as you have but simply running the av wizard and setting to a different resolution or ui fixes mine.  You can then set it back to the original settings.


Hope this helps :)


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2007, 03:05:08 am »
All our Core's are Intel graphics based and most have been installed from the DVD iso. It looks like nVidia-glx is getting loaded in error and then when the screen saver tries to load images it fails because it can't load GLX (but the graphics are Intel based!).

Not sure how this happened but its possibly because the machine that the DVD iso was built on had an nVidia installed. Anyway remove nvidia-glx and then restart X and the screen saver works again!

Do;
sudo apt-get remove --purge nvidia-glx

I can confirm that this fixed the issue for me as well (UI1 still with the vesa drivers ATI chipset).

I have seen a similar problem where not only does the flickr window not show but also when I start TV it doesn't show (don't recall on video) .  It seems at least in my case the window becomes disconnected from the main orbiter, but if I go to the kde desktop I can see both the filckr window and the TV window.
I am mot sure if this is the same problem as you have but simply running the av wizard and setting to a different resolution or ui fixes mine.  You can then set it back to the original settings.


Hope this helps :)


Tim

I think that's more like the issue tschak909 was refering to, with the current drivers I'm not even going to try UI2 (medium/masking) on this chipset.


"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Flickr images not appearing on Core/Hybrid
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2007, 12:34:48 pm »
All our Core's are Intel graphics based and most have been installed from the DVD iso. It looks like nVidia-glx is getting loaded in error and then when the screen saver tries to load images it fails because it can't load GLX (but the graphics are Intel based!).

Not sure how this happened but its possibly because the machine that the DVD iso was built on had an nVidia installed. Anyway remove nvidia-glx and then restart X and the screen saver works again!

Do;
sudo apt-get remove --purge nvidia-glx

I can confirm that this fixed the issue for me as well (UI1 still with the vesa drivers ATI chipset).

I have seen a similar problem where not only does the flickr window not show but also when I start TV it doesn't show (don't recall on video) .  It seems at least in my case the window becomes disconnected from the main orbiter, but if I go to the kde desktop I can see both the filckr window and the TV window.
I am mot sure if this is the same problem as you have but simply running the av wizard and setting to a different resolution or ui fixes mine.  You can then set it back to the original settings.


Hope this helps :)


Tim

I think that's more like the issue tschak909 was refering to, with the current drivers I'm not even going to try UI2 (medium/masking) on this chipset.




We have tested UI2 + Overlay on several i945 MB's with the GM3000 graphics chip... no problems on any boards todate. I can't give you specifics about the actual boards we have tested as they are not available independently but they are all based on totally standard i945 chipsets which means from a purely graphical chipset capability perspective they are indentical to any other i945 out there.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk