Author Topic: Partitioning the Core HDD?  (Read 1144 times)

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Partitioning the Core HDD?
« on: August 29, 2007, 10:08:23 pm »
Anybody got any pointers on how I can partition the core's hdd and place the system on the first partition and use the second for media?

I understand that by default LMCE will take the partition (or entire drive??) wipe it and install, thus loosing any data you may have. I am going to get a very large drive for the core, and want to be able easily to re-install LMCE when I need without running the danger of it wiping my media... thoughts?

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Partitioning the Core HDD?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2007, 10:33:54 pm »
only the dvd install uses the entire drive. if you use kubuntus install cd and then the two linuxmce cds, then you can partition how you would like and use which partitions you want.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Partitioning the Core HDD?
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2007, 10:34:33 pm »
Don't use the DVD installer, that will format and use the whole drive at once.

The "2 CD" installer should allow you to partition your drive any way you like, during the installation of Kubuntu.  For example: I have about 3 different Core systems installed on one drive of a test machine, and room for plenty more to experiment. 

So when you reinstall this way you can leave the existing partitions in place and only format the system partition again.  You just have to be carefull not to re-format your media patition once it contains data (obviously).  Somewhere after the installation is complete the system should find it and ask you what to do with it.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


chris33f

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Partitioning the Core HDD?
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2007, 02:35:17 pm »
F... !  >:(
I tried to install from the DVD, and I had 3 partitions on a single HDD.
I just wanted to install LMCE on the last partition (hda3), but I thought that after asking which HDD, it would have asked which partition...
Now my system is completly damaged. I hope to recover some data (I stopped the install during inode creation).  :-[

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Partitioning the Core HDD?
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2007, 02:57:54 pm »
F... !  >:(
I tried to install from the DVD, and I had 3 partitions on a single HDD.
I just wanted to install LMCE on the last partition (hda3), but I thought that after asking which HDD, it would have asked which partition...
Now my system is completly damaged. I hope to recover some data (I stopped the install during inode creation).  :-[


I think that is pretty clearly mentioned in the Download Instructions, try reading them first next time.  ::)

Quote
Note: this installer will erase all existing data from the selected hard drive.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


chris33f

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Partitioning the Core HDD?
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2007, 03:22:16 pm »
I read it too fast ...   :'(
Anyway I recovered most of the windows hdd.
To be safe now, I use another hdd, and try to install from the cds.
When installing lmce, I have an error after specifying the kubuntu iso location :
"can't cache kubuntu live CD"

Could it come from a too small swap partition ? (default size, and I have 1G of Ram)
I really have no idea why it displays this. (the ISO is ok, checked with MD5)
Any clue ?

So I tried again with the DVD, but it's not as flexible.