Author Topic: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6  (Read 2446 times)

plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« on: August 31, 2007, 10:30:02 pm »
I've mounted the ISO and booted from it to install - tried a few times, and keeps stalling les than a minute after the install starts proper (after I select the drive in the install) with errors about copying gz printer files "no such file or directory" - "skipping to next header" - got a fullpage of it - and goes no further.

Using the Quick Install DVD ISO 0704

Any ideas ?

TIA
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 10:32:33 pm by plodge »

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2007, 10:49:28 pm »
Have you checked the md5sum of the ISO?
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2007, 08:50:22 am »
I have now - matches. Used torrent to download.

I've also burned to a physical DVD-R - same issue - but messages are sharp printers on screen rather than HP this time.

I've tried 4 times to install this now - all have failed. Is there a specific set of vmware settings required to install this ?

We're not doing very well so far !

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4515
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2007, 09:21:32 am »
I have now - matches. Used torrent to download.

I've also burned to a physical DVD-R - same issue - but messages are sharp printers on screen rather than HP this time.

I've tried 4 times to install this now - all have failed. Is there a specific set of vmware settings required to install this ?

We're not doing very well so far !

its not a solution for you but... we've got several copies of the lmce-0704 DVD iso burnt and all have worked flawlessly... so it still sounds like you have a corrupted download to me.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2007, 09:44:28 am »
So your saying the md5sum checksum is useless ?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4515
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2007, 09:53:16 am »
So your saying the md5sum checksum is useless ?

Hmmm... no ;-)

Have you tried installing on another physical machine? ie different motherboard
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2007, 09:55:57 am »
No spare machine - hence using VMWare to check it out, and "will it work with my alarm" before I go and spend money on a machine for it.

I downloaded using torrent which has it's own checking and ive checked the md5sum - so I dont think it's corrupted at my end.

Any debug to turn on to see why it's failing ?


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4515
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2007, 10:15:47 am »
No spare machine - hence using VMWare to check it out, and "will it work with my alarm" before I go and spend money on a machine for it.

I downloaded using torrent which has it's own checking and ive checked the md5sum - so I dont think it's corrupted at my end.

Any debug to turn on to see why it's failing ?



Ok... after some discussion here we think your problem might be caused by the fact that the lmce-0704 DVD iso itself runs at least in part inside a vmware environment. So I wonder whether that is causing the problem ie your trying to boot the lmce-0704 iso inside vmware.... but it is already running inside vmware!

We're not familiar with what limitations this might have... but its a possible reason for your failures.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2007, 10:17:05 am »
So I cant run it on VM6 to look at it ?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4515
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2007, 10:37:05 am »
So I cant run it on VM6 to look at it ?

One of my team is using VMware to do test installs... but I am not sure that he is using the lmce-0704 DVD iso. Let me find out whether he is and also what VMware version he is successfully testing under. I'll post here as soon as I can get hold of an answer to that question :-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2007, 11:13:31 am »
Excellent - thnx.

I'm keen to test 0704 and how it can cope with RS232 comms with my alarm - which is the reason I want to use it. Mainlobby runs on Windows - that sentence says all I need to know.

I've worked with Windows extensively since 1.0, and ive only installed Linux once - but there's no way I'm having windows run this ! Im willing to learn for Linux :-)

I need a thin, fast, simple touchscreen with some simple buttons that talks RS232 direct to the alarm. Hopefully this will fit the bill. And mebe I can add cameras from there, etc.

Again, thanks for the fast responses.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2007, 02:49:20 pm »
It should work with the CD installer at least, see: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Testing_with_VMWare

VMWare is supposed to be able to controll the USB ports directly, but I don't think it can work the rs232 port.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4515
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #12 on: September 01, 2007, 03:25:57 pm »
It should work with the CD installer at least, see: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Testing_with_VMWare

VMWare is supposed to be able to controll the USB ports directly, but I don't think it can work the rs232 port.


Good point!... yep had not thought of that. So even if he did get the DVD installed under VMware he might have a problem testing it against his alarm panel.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

plodge

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2007, 11:22:25 pm »
I've got a USB > Serial adaptor i could use. That would get round it.

neowonge

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: v0704 install fails on VMWare 6
« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2007, 09:13:10 am »
hi ...

first time posting in this forum ... got to know linuxmce last month and was testing it with VMWare workstation 6 ... works greattt ....

i hv install the vmware tool as well so that i can mount my windows drive with media files to linuxmce. i did attached a bluetooth n use my nokia6630 as orbitor, but responce is a bit slow, speed is nothing like in the demo video. i also did successfully boot up the diskless MD and play some video in VMWare tooo. all works pretty well, except no UI2 ...

i will try later to install to my 2nd harddisk, but i need to make sure my ati9600 works well first on kubuntu .... wish me luck ...


abt the ""skipping to next header" ... i got that twice in my 5 times linuxmce installation ... i am mapping the same iso file, no idea why it give prob sometimes. ... i just close VMWare n reopen it or reboot my pc, then it works again ....