Author Topic: App_Server not starting becuase of lack of sound card.  (Read 1228 times)

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
App_Server not starting becuase of lack of sound card.
« on: August 28, 2007, 06:18:12 am »
I have been having some trouble with a few items on my core.  I have a hybrid installation on the following server. http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3288890&CatId=3372#detailspecs

It is basically under my stairs and I do not use it for media playback, although I would like to use it for ripping DVD's and CD's. Unfortunately, this is not happening and the longest time I could not figure out why, but I think I have figured out why.

The App_Server on the core is failing to start. the logs where no help as they just say.
Code: [Select]
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1 08/26/07 19:07:06 15 (spawning-device) Starting... 50
1 08/26/07 19:07:06 15 (spawning-device) Found /usr/pluto/bin/App_Server
Return code: 139
3 08/26/07 19:07:06 15 (spawning-device) Device died... count=50/50 dev=15
Sun Aug 26 19:07:06 CDT 2007 died
3 08/26/07 19:07:16 15 (spawning-device) Aborting restart of device 15...

but I typed in
Code: [Select]
/usr/pluto/bin/App_Serverwhich returned the following
Code: [Select]
App_Server, v.2.0.0.44.0708032200
Visit www.plutohome.com for source code and license information

amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

The server has no sound card and I have no additional sound cards to insert, so I was wondering if there is a way to not have the App_Server check or to trick LinuxMCE into thinking there is a sound card.  This may not be possible, and I may have to go get a card to put into the box, but I would rather not since I will never be using the box for anything which needs sound(which is why I did not get a server with sound built in).  Any help would be appreciated. 

I have also been having problems with asterisk which I believe is related.  I have to manually start Asterisk after every reload of the router.

Thanks,
Rob


rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: App_Server not starting becuase of lack of sound card.
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2007, 06:30:06 am »
I found the answer to my own question.

Code: [Select]
modprobe snd-dummy
now it is working

Sorry for answering my own question.
Rob

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: App_Server not starting becuase of lack of sound card.
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2007, 09:02:28 am »
I found the answer to my own question.

Code: [Select]
modprobe snd-dummy
now it is working

Sorry for answering my own question.
Rob

Thank you for sharing the answer with us, I'm pretty sure that will come in handy for others.  Did that fix the asterisk issue as well?
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: App_Server not starting becuase of lack of sound card.
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2007, 04:45:32 pm »
yes it has fixed the asterisk issue as well.  granted it has only been a few hours, but the asterisk logs showed the no socket could be connected, and after getting the App_Server up running the logs show no errors, and the phones seem to be working although I need to do some more testing later this week.  I will update the situation and if the asterisk turns out to be a different issue i will start a new thread.

Thanks,

Rob

karib

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: App_Server not starting becuase of lack of sound card.
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2007, 11:20:57 pm »
Might want to toss it into your /etc/modules file so it will auto-magically restart on boot.