Author Topic: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP  (Read 1311 times)

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« on: August 27, 2007, 09:58:39 am »
I've no experience using Asterisk, but I'm interested in using this feature to. Could anyone explain how to setup a Asterisk with external ISDN Line using an AVM ISDN card and and internal VOIP Line for all Soft- and Hardphones?

Thanks in advance

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2007, 04:01:03 pm »
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2007, 05:56:12 pm »
I think I should clarify my request  ;)

It's quite plain to me that there is a way of moddifying and configuring asterisk with usual conf files. But I thought and hoped, the out-of-box solution linuxmce would provide an own and maybe easier way of doing this. Correct me if I'm wrong and it must still be done "by hand".

BTW: The link is very interesting to know what asterisk is in general, but has little relation to my question, unfortunately :(

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2007, 06:05:35 pm »
well there are some places on the wiki that may be of more help.
forums.digium.com is strictly for asterisk. by all means ask for help in here; but im not sure that many people would be of help. i bought an FXO card but havent gotten it yet. once i get it, i will check back in here to try to help you out. i did dig around the AMP a little bit and it seems very interesting. i have yet to decide if i am going to go total VOIP or use a couple analog phones too. It seems like VOIP may be easier to set up; but they are more expensive too and i already have an analog phone set. so idk....but, anyway...i would still check out the asterisk forums if you havent already. i dont believe there is much of a difference in configuring it. also...my setup wont be using isdn so i dont know that i would be much help. maybe after messing around with it some i can help you figure some things out. i know a few people on here have posted some things about their setups.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2007, 06:34:41 pm »
Thanks for your help anyway. I thought there must be a linuxmce way and how frustrating it would be, to find and configure everthing by my self, just to find out linuxmce kills the config files with its next reboot or update ;)

GoManutd

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2007, 10:58:25 pm »
Well the LinuxMCE folks have preconfigured SOME of the more common VOIP providers. 

The beauty of Asterisk is you can use it with ANY VOIP provider that allows asterisk connections...

The permutations are tremendous

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2007, 11:39:30 pm »
Have you tried using the integrated AMP interface?

web-admin: Advanced > Configuration > Phones Setup
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


KingCrab

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk with external ISDN and internal VOIP
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2007, 03:25:22 pm »
I've to use chan_capi, I think and it's not in the list of available trunks...