Author Topic: GC100 + input sensors  (Read 6045 times)

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
GC100 + input sensors
« on: August 24, 2007, 08:30:46 am »
Has anybody got any experience configuring these? 

I have one hooked up to my doorbell, and it's not clear to me how I need to configure it in LinuxMCE.  I already added a "Generic Input Ouput" device to the gc100, but I'm not even sure what to put in the "Port/Channel Number" device data field.  For now I'm using the value 3 as it's connected to (IR-)port #3. 

Now (I'm guessing) I need to add a "someone rings the doorbell" event and tie it to some action, this is where I get really lost.  Ideally I would just like to have the text-to-speech say something like "tring" or "there is someone at the door", maybe even just turn a small light on in the livingroom for a few seconds when the house is in sleep mode.

I see the following in the 34_LaunchGC100.sh.log:
Code: [Select]
05      08/24/07 8:06:07.701            Creating child 63 <0xb795f6d0>
05      08/24/07 8:06:07.701            Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 43 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb795f6d0>
05      08/24/07 8:06:07.701            Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 43 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb795f6d0>
05      08/24/07 8:06:09.636            statechange Reply: Sorry, after all that searching, I can't determine which child device should be sent the pin_changed <0xb615bb90>
Not sure what it exactly means, but I don't like the sound of it.

Any suggestions at all (things to try, logs to check, etc) are welcome.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2007, 08:42:38 pm »
Ok, so I made the Generic Input Ouput device a child of the gc100's Generic Relays child device, as described here: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=659.0

Now the /var/log/pluto/34_LaunchGC100.sh.log log shows:
Code: [Select]
05      08/24/07 20:11:11.374           Creating child 63 <0xb78b46d0>
05      08/24/07 20:11:11.374           Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 43 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb78b46d0>
05      08/24/07 20:11:11.374           Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 43 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb78b46d0>

but when I do a tail -f on that logfile and I trigger the input it now shows these lines, one on the contact close and one on the open afterwards:
Code: [Select]
05      08/24/07 20:19:04.949           statechange Reply: Sorry, after all that searching, I can't determine which child device should be sent the pin_changed <0xb60b0b90>
05      08/24/07 20:19:05.559           statechange Reply: Sorry, after all that searching, I can't determine which child device should be sent the pin_changed <0xb60b0b90>

So I guess that's at least some progress, next I guess is figuring out why it can not "determine which child to send the pin_changed to", whatever that means... ;)  I'm probably missing some part of the setup procedure.  Maybe I can find something in the source to give me a clue.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2007, 06:47:10 am »
Ok, scratch that last post.  After poking around in the source a bit, I discovered that the Generic Input Ouput device needs to be added directly to the gc100, and that the Port/Channel Number device data field needs to contain 2:3 in my specific case:
Code: [Select]
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            Reply received from GC100: state,2:3,0 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            statechange Reply interpreted as module: 2:3 change to 0 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            statechange Reply: found module of type IR, 3 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            Zdebug: DevCat # 97 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            Zdebug: DevCat # 79 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            statechange Reply: testing Command_Impl2 Dev #, 2:3 (state 0) default state: 0 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            Zdebug: 2:3 ?= 2:3 <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            statechange Reply: matches exactly in m:s format <0xb6115b90>
10      08/25/07 2:04:32.071            Socket::SendMessage type 2 id 9 from 65 to 0 <0xb7918b90>

The lines starting with "10" were enabeled by adding 10 to the LogLevels line in the /etc/pluto.conf configuration file, I read that elsewhere on this forum.  The "Zdebug" logging was temporarily added by me as I was figuring this out.  This part seems to work as it is supposed to now (and all I really had to do was specify 2:3 instead of 3 ;D).

According to device template #43 Generic Input Ouput this device should fire the Sensor Tripped event.  I find this in the logs:
Code: [Select]
05      08/25/07 3:14:48.196            Alert data not specified for 65 <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:48.196            Event #9 has no handlers <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:48.196            Received Message from 65 (Generic Input Ouput / Entrance) to 0 (unknown / ), type 2 id 9 Event:Sensor Tripped, retry none, parameters: <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:48.196              Parameter 25(Tripped): 1 <0x854b8b90>
05      08/25/07 3:14:48.343            Alert data not specified for 65 <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:48.343            Event #9 has no handlers <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:48.343            Received Message from 65 (Generic Input Ouput / Entrance) to 0 (unknown / ), type 2 id 9 Event:Sensor Tripped, retry none, parameters: <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:48.343              Parameter 25(Tripped): 1 <0x854b8b90>

07      08/25/07 3:14:51.461            Event #9 has no handlers <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:51.461            Received Message from 65 (Generic Input Ouput / Entrance) to 0 (unknown / ), type 2 id 9 Event:Sensor Tripped, retry none, parameters: <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:51.461              Parameter 25(Tripped): 0 <0x854b8b90>
07      08/25/07 3:14:51.603            Event #9 has no handlers <0x854b8b90>

I tried adding an "A sensor (door/window/motion/etc.) is tripped" as well as an "Someone rings the doorbell" event, but neither seem to pick up on it (same logs).  I guess that will be the next piece of the puzzle.

"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2007, 01:03:52 am »
Somehow it's working now, Last night I removed the event I had made before and made 2 new ones.  Both for the A sensor (door/window/motion/etc.) is tripped event.  One with Tripped = 1 that sets the level of a light to 100 and then turns it on.  The second with Tripped = 0 that sets the light to level 30. 

I guess I didn't test it properly last night, because when I just tried again to see where I left off it suddenly worked!  Now if only I could figure out exectly what I'm doing here... ;)

My setup in short:

  • Add a Generic Input Ouput child device to the gc100 (Advanced / Configuration / Devices)
    • Port/Channel Number: 2:3
    • InputOrOutput: 0
    • Default State: 0
  • Add an A sensor (door/window/motion/etc.) is tripped event (Wizard / Events handler / Respond to Events)
    • Tripped = 1
    • Add some commands with the wizard, to be done when the doorbell is pressed
  • Add an A sensor (door/window/motion/etc.) is tripped event
    • Tripped = 0
    • Add some commands with the wizard, to be done when the doorbell is released

The sensor is hooked up to "Connector 3", which is set to Sensor In on the gc100, "Sensor Notifications" is Enabled.

And if anyone has a better way, I'd (still) love to hear about it. ;)
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2011, 01:25:34 pm »
Hello,

I bought a GC100 to replace a old deffective doorbell and use LinuxMCE (810) to this end.
Despite instructions find here, it does not work at this time.
The Device and childs are created automatically and I have change the sensor 1 as "sensor with auto-notify".
The test I made don't give me a tripped sensor in the log (87_LauchGC100.sh.log).

Any help would be appreciated

Thank's

Philippe

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2011, 11:18:13 pm »
Hi Zaerc,

If you set up a device as a specific sensor type, Doorbell, Motion Sensor, Door/Window sensor, whatever.. the system will automatically set things for certain scenarios (such as automatically assigning doorbell to the Doorbell sensor, etc.)

-Thom

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2011, 03:29:45 pm »
Has anybody got any experience configuring these? 

I have one hooked up to my doorbell, and it's not clear to me how I need to configure it in LinuxMCE.  I already added a "Generic Input Ouput" device to the gc100, but I'm not even sure what to put in the "Port/Channel Number" device data field.  For now I'm using the value 3 as it's connected to (IR-)port #3. 

Now (I'm guessing) I need to add a "someone rings the doorbell" event and tie it to some action, this is where I get really lost.  Ideally I would just like to have the text-to-speech say something like "tring" or "there is someone at the door", maybe even just turn a small light on in the livingroom for a few seconds when the house is in sleep mode.

I see the following in the 34_LaunchGC100.sh.log:
Code: [Select]
05      08/24/07 8:06:07.701            Creating child 63 <0xb795f6d0>
05      08/24/07 8:06:07.701            Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 43 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb795f6d0>
05      08/24/07 8:06:07.701            Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 43 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb795f6d0>
05      08/24/07 8:06:09.636            statechange Reply: Sorry, after all that searching, I can't determine which child device should be sent the pin_changed <0xb615bb90>
Not sure what it exactly means, but I don't like the sound of it.

Any suggestions at all (things to try, logs to check, etc) are welcome.


Uplink has...he wrote the code at Pluto ;-)

Give him a shout.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: GC100 + input sensors
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2011, 05:31:35 pm »
I reconfigured once again the GC-100 as Zaerc indicated and now it works.
Modifying the LogLevels line in the /etc/pluto.conf configuration file helped me greatly.
Thank you for your answers.

Philippe