Author Topic: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?  (Read 2135 times)

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« on: August 22, 2007, 10:31:18 am »
Hi,

I came to point to add automation for open/close the garage gates. Physically, they are control by simple switch. But I have no idea where can I put a corresponded button for that on the Orbiter. I thought about Security but the system doesn't allow to add any security scenarios except camera views. The rest places are not appropriated: Light, Climate or Media.

Any suggestions are very appreciated!
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2007, 06:40:41 am »
You can add any scenario under any category.  Go to advanced, configuration, scenarios in the admin site, and put it under security, and assign it to some rooms

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2007, 10:57:10 am »
You can add any scenario under any category.  Go to advanced, configuration, scenarios in the admin site, and put it under security, and assign it to some rooms

Thanks a lot, Paul, for your answer! I tried to add a new scenario via Wizard --> Scenarios --> Security Scenarios and I forgot about advanced, configuration, scenarios. I tested it and it works fine! Thanks again!
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2007, 03:39:40 pm »
could you give some more insight into how you set it all up? what kindof hardware and what kind of configuring did you have to do?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2007, 04:13:16 pm »
could you give some more insight into how you set it all up? what kindof hardware and what kind of configuring did you have to do?

I don't have information about motors for garage doors. But the rest I know. We use controller ICPDAS with our proprietary software. Plus simple switch which opens or closes the door. I developed a Ruby interface between Pluto/LMCE and ICPDAS. So, the difficult for me was in adding buttons for open/close door under Security section on the Orbiter.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2007, 04:29:10 pm »
hmmm...i looked up the ICPDAS and it seems interesting....probably over my head....but im easily intimidated ;) i would love for my garage to be operated by linuxmce though. is it two way? does it tell you when the garage is open? can you still open it manually without linuxmce? what other kinds of applications are there for using ICPDAS?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2007, 05:03:45 pm »
Sure, you can open/close the door by simple switch :) Each door has itself switch in the LMCE. So, you can put it on the floor-plan and see its status (currently I added them as Simple switch ON/OFF).

ICPDAS also controls lighting and security sensors. We're planning develop another application for sparkling and for weather station since ICPDAS has 1-wire interface.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2007, 05:06:59 pm »
yeah id really like the weather idea too. would there be much difference between european and american ICPDAS? if i got one would it be hard to learn how to set this up myself? im not stupid but i dont have any programming experience. would it be as simple as writing a quick script or more than that?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2007, 05:50:08 pm »
ICPDAS doesn't include any home automation software in the box. It has web and ftp servers, supports c, java, perl, php. So, our lighting/security application is developed on C. The sparking application will be also on C but with web interface for configuration.

For weather station I found interesting application - http://oww.sourceforge.net. It also offers a web interface plus API.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2007, 06:36:41 pm »
what kindof hardware would i need to get to allow me to do the weather and the garage? just the small controller?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2007, 10:14:36 pm »
what kindof hardware would i need to get to allow me to do the weather and the garage? just the small controller?

Actually, no. For weather measurement you need some 1-wire stuff: rain, temperature, pressure, wind sensors (http://www.audon.co.uk/1-wire_weather.html). Plus. you have to connect all those stuff to the ICPDAS via its 1-Wire interface and install OWW applications there.

To control the garage door, lighting, security sensors you have to develop application using ICPDAS SDK (Java or C). It provides a simple way to send commands to and get status of each physical port on the ICPDAS.

I don't think that it's the best way to use such power device to control just the doors. We chose it to provide similar solution to AMX but with our own hardware and software which can be modified easily in any time.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2007, 10:21:26 pm »
yeah....thats over my head im sure....looks like ill be gettin the "Garage Butler". ;)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2007, 08:49:55 pm »
This probably won't be of much help but I stumbeled across some old related discussion while looking for something else:
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=49.0
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2007, 08:55:47 pm »
hmmm...that seems pretty good....but does anyone know of a garage door opened that lets you know if its in the open or closed position? any ideas about rigging a security sensor maybe....? if the contacts (circuit) is closed then the door is too...if its open, so is the door....sound feasible?

zaerc how do you feel about the gc100? what kindof applications are you using it for?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Where I can place the button to open/close the gates?
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2007, 09:49:46 pm »
The gc100-6 that I have does not have the relay outputs, but I might get a gc100-12 eventually, just to be able to controll the buzzer on the door in the hallway downstairs, I don't have a garage.

I think the gc100-12 could easily pull it off, it has relay outputs to control the open/close switch(es).  And also ports that can be used for sensor input, so you could hook up the gararge door contacts to get the state of the door, I think (for now I'm still trying to figure out how these sensors work in LMCE). 

Another option might be using X10 or similar, I have seen control switches for motorized sunblinds, that's basicly the same thing as a garage door I reckon.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous