Author Topic: My audio has gone!  (Read 1190 times)

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
My audio has gone!
« on: August 22, 2007, 09:26:14 am »
I finished installing everything I needed for LMCE (remote, vfd, tv card etc..) and then rebooted into the av wizard to change my monitor output to TV (as I prefered to do all the installing at my desk rather han in front of the tv).
But I get to audio, select analog (as I did on first boot) and theres no sound!

I have onboard sound that doesn't work, but I have an Audigy2 zs pp sound card fitted.

So I enter KDE and the welcome sound still works. Just to make sure, I set the alsa default sound card to audigy2 and typing in alsamixer brings up the Audigy2 mixer.

So then I reneter LMCE, reload router and still no sound....reboot, and still no sound!

I tried selecting Audigy in the soundcard section under media directors in web admin, but that didn't work either.

Anyone have any ideas as to why this happened? Or even better, have a solution?

Is there anyway of seeing which soundcard LMCE is trying to use?

Cheers
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: My audio has gone!
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 03:33:19 pm »
is the onboard sound disabled in the bios?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: My audio has gone!
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2007, 04:19:40 pm »
No, the onboard sound, although detected by alsa, doesn't work. I don't know why; the correct drivers are loaded and the bios onboard sound is on.

But I don't need the onboard sound anyway, as I want to use my Audigy2 card.
I get the feeling LMCE is trying to use the onboard sound.
How do I tell??
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: My audio has gone!
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2007, 04:37:45 pm »
well its not using it anyway so just disable it. i had the same problem with my audigy 2. once i disabled the onboard sound the card worked fine.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: My audio has gone!
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2007, 09:47:23 pm »
Hi,

maybe you can check Xine player logs and check what audio device it is trying to use. You can also try to play audio with Xine over command line....

HTH,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: My audio has gone!
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2007, 06:36:54 am »
I have had similar problems with updates causing the default sound card to change when I was using Debian/Plutohome.

The solution probably is to completely disable the on-board sound card. Alternatively you can use utilities such as alsaconf to change the default sound card (which is what I ended up doing). I assume the same works for Ubuntu/linuxMCE - although you may not have the alsaconf on the machine by default.

HTH

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: My audio has gone!
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2007, 08:48:49 am »
I disabled the onboard sound in the bios and it worked a treat! Seems that LMCE just decided to switch sound cards.
Thanks all for your help!
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT