Author Topic: no console access  (Read 1259 times)

fbn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
no console access
« on: September 16, 2007, 10:47:48 pm »
Hi,

I've installed LinuxMCE as described in this tutorial: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/DVD_Installation

Now I have the GUI but unfortunately no sound. I checked with the admin interface where I can log in with my user and password but no sound configuration there. Then I tried to log in to a console (Alt+F2) but it won't accept the username and password.

Do I have to enable console login anywhere or is there a root password?

Thanks,
  Frank

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: no console access
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 11:34:37 pm »
Hi,

I've installed LinuxMCE as described in this tutorial: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/DVD_Installation

Now I have the GUI but unfortunately no sound. I checked with the admin interface where I can log in with my user and password but no sound configuration there. Then I tried to log in to a console (Alt+F2) but it won't accept the username and password.

Do I have to enable console login anywhere or is there a root password?

Thanks,
  Frank

If you installed from the lmce-0704 DVD then your console login is;

User = linuxmce
Pass = linuxmce
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

fbn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: no console access
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 07:58:06 am »
that works, thank you!

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: no console access
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 08:23:52 am »
that works, thank you!

 No problem ;)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

taylormade

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: no console access
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2007, 12:23:12 am »
If you installed from the lmce-0704 DVD then your console login is;

User = linuxmce
Pass = linuxmce

What about the root account?  linuxmce is a user account and can't modify system settings and root owned files. 

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: no console access
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2007, 12:55:57 am »
If you installed from the lmce-0704 DVD then your console login is;

User = linuxmce
Pass = linuxmce

What about the root account?  linuxmce is a user account and can't modify system settings and root owned files. 

Once logged in you can put 'sudo' in front of any console command to allow you temporary 'root' access ie;

sudo joe /etc/fstab

Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk