Author Topic: [SOLVED!!!] Is it possible to set the resolution to 1366x768?  (Read 5581 times)

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED!!!] Is it possible to set the resolution to 1366x768?
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2008, 05:06:57 pm »
This is going to sound really weird, but bear with me.  After the numerous attempts to get my video card functioning correctly, I decided to load Kunbutu 7.10 by itself and to my amazement, when the the live cd booted up, display looked amazing.  It displayed 1366x768, my native resolution.  I checked the display settings and saw that it was using the "nv" driver, which I thought was bogus in 7.04.  Is there any way to load MCE on top of an install of 7.10 like you could with 7.04?  Or if anyone has a fix for my microscopic font with the Quick install DVD.


Thanks
MG
You could try setting up your display driver properly: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Microscopic_fonts_in_KDE
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


prettymg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED!!!] Is it possible to set the resolution to 1366x768?
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2008, 04:55:15 pm »
I'm a little confused about the Display settings.  I measured my screen and it's 50x24 1/4, so does that mean I set the display size to "1250 606.25".  That doesn't sound quite right.  Am I on the wrong path with this?


Thanks
MG

Matthew

  • Douchebag
  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED!!!] Is it possible to set the resolution to 1366x768?
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2008, 05:29:07 pm »
I'm a little confused about the Display settings.  I measured my screen and it's 50x24 1/4, so does that mean I set the display size to "1250 606.25".  That doesn't sound quite right.  Am I on the wrong path with this?

I'm not exactly sure what you're talking about, but FYI displays are measured in either/both their X/Y pixels (eg. 1366x768, 1972x1080) and their diagonal physical size, like 50" from bottom left corner to top right corner. Aspect ratios like 4:3 or 16:9 are derivable from the pixel dimensions, though some display modes will just not use some columns or rows of physically available pixels when an aspect ratio doesn't fit perfectly inside the pixels available.

mog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED!!!] Is it possible to set the resolution to 1366x768?
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2008, 03:50:58 am »
I'm a little confused about the Display settings.  I measured my screen and it's 50x24 1/4, so does that mean I set the display size to "1250 606.25".  That doesn't sound quite right.  Am I on the wrong path with this?

I'm not exactly sure what you're talking about, but FYI displays are measured in either/both their X/Y pixels (eg. 1366x768, 1972x1080) and their diagonal physical size, like 50" from bottom left corner to top right corner. Aspect ratios like 4:3 or 16:9 are derivable from the pixel dimensions, though some display modes will just not use some columns or rows of physically available pixels when an aspect ratio doesn't fit perfectly inside the pixels available.

He's talking about calculating the dots per inch to solve the microscopic fonts in KDE as described in the link above.

According to google (search for 50 inch to mm)
50 inch = 1 270 millimeters
(24 1/4) inch = 615.95 millimeters

So DisplaySize 1270 616 would be correct, which is roughly what you said.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 03:55:41 am by mog »