Author Topic: running a 1080i desktop on linuxmce  (Read 1283 times)

mevolution

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
running a 1080i desktop on linuxmce
« on: August 16, 2007, 04:13:57 pm »
hi,
My current htpc setup is windows with the media portal program. the program is easily the best i've came across on the windows platform but it's very stable and lots of overlooked little quirks that never fail to annoy. my non-htpc linux experience has been limited and unsuccessful but linuxmce sounds too good to not be given a shot.

my main concern is:

I run my desktop at 1920x1080i. it's an option on Nvidia's CP. my videocard is a NVIDIA 8500GT. can i do the same with ease on LMCE? can i switch between 720P, and 1080i? since i have a plasma with a 1024.768 native resolution, 1080i is almost a must.


ardist

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: running a 1080i desktop on linuxmce
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 06:39:11 am »
I am no linuxmce guru, but when you install linuxmce right in the beginning it does let you set your resolution to and 720p and 1080i are both options.

RockHound

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: running a 1080i desktop on linuxmce
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 01:34:03 pm »
According to this: http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/100.14.11/README/chapter-16.html ... it is possible. But in the demo video, a popup notice says that 1080i is currently broken. You might want to investigate that.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: running a 1080i desktop on linuxmce
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2007, 07:56:11 am »
If you are using a Plasma with 1024X768 why is 1920X1080i a must? It just adds a deinterlace and scaling stage that won't help. Run it in its native mode if you can. Or 720P, the most reliable HD mode for LMCE. I'm not sure how to tell LMCE that the display is 16X9 though if you are running 1024X768.

LoSt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: running a 1080i desktop on linuxmce
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2007, 05:33:51 am »
I have an nvidia NX7600GS card and all I can get it 720p. The how to wiki for the A/V wizard mentions there's a driver problem for 1080i and 1080p.