Author Topic: intel boot agent  (Read 3126 times)

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
intel boot agent
« on: August 17, 2007, 03:03:52 pm »
I attempted to install Linux MCE 7.04 from the quick-install DVD.  Everything was going well, then I got the following message while installing:

No boot filename received
Exiting Intel Boot Agent
device -- insert boot disk and press any key

I am very new to Linux and I really don't know what this means.  So if someone could at least point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful.

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 03:24:38 pm »
actually, the error (I think), is PXE-2.1 build 084

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 04:23:29 pm »
So, in the middle of your installation it says something about PXE booting problems or when you try to boot from the DVD?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2007, 04:26:12 pm »
In the middle of installation - not long after it asks that the DVD be removed.  Is it not recognizing a drive or something?

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 04:49:30 pm »
It seems so. It detects the drive fine when you install though correct? It gives you that error after the install is complete, it tells you to take out the dvd and then it reboots, right? Is it SATA or IDE? Dual booting anything...wait....the DVD takes the entire disk as far as I know...hmmm...can you check the bios and see that you have it set to boot from that drive? I can't imagine that it wouldn't be....make sure that drive is at the top and try rebooting.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2007, 05:20:21 pm »
Well, it's SATA.  I've never checked the bios since switching to Kubuntu (just in Windows).  When I'm looking at it I can figure it out, but how do I get there to see it?  As I mentioned, I'm very new to Linux.

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2007, 05:22:37 pm »
In the BIOS look for the "BOOT" or "BOOT ORDER" option or something similar. What kindof motherboard do you have? You should be able to select the boot order in that option. I would try setting the hard drive as the first boot device and see if it picks it up. After that you could try switching to the DVD drive and making the HD second.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2007, 07:26:20 pm »
In the boot order, DVD drive was first.  I changed it to hard drive, and the installation boot picked right up where it left off, with the same PXE-2.1 "need boot disk" message.  Should the re-order have fixed it (if that was the problem), or does the installation need to be re-started?  And if that's the case, do I just boot up with the quick install DVD in the drive?

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2007, 08:08:42 pm »
Yeah if the boot order had been the problem that should have fixed it. It is something else. I will look at my dvd when i get home tonight and see. Maybe someone else can help you fix it before then.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2007, 02:28:55 am »
If you can think of anything, that would be helpful.  The error implies that it's not finding anything to boot from - but at this point I've attempted it from both the hard drive and the disc drive.  Not that it would take much, but I'm stumped.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2007, 07:33:18 am »
You should not get that message unless you have network boot enabled. Its a BIOS setting and should not be on in the core. Look for anything like that in the bios boot configuration and disable it. Let us know if thats your problem.

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2007, 05:06:13 pm »
I disabled 'boot to network' in the BIOS and now the error message is gone - just the line "no bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key"
Any suggestions?

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2007, 05:14:57 pm »
The only two fields in the BIOS that seem to be in any way (but probably not) related are the 'Max CPUID Value Limit' for running legacy OSes in the boot configuration menu and the 'Intel Quick Resume Technology' is enabled in the power settings menu.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2007, 05:42:57 pm »
You do not see the grub loader then. its possible that something got messed up in the initial install.
First- which port is the hard disk installed on? (Ide 0 or 1 master or slave or SATA 1-???)
Second is that shown as the first or second boot device in the bios?
Third is there a setting in the bios for bootable disks that allows you to select which hard disk boots first?

All of this is considered great utility for those that understand and a total mystery to everyone else. You are not alone with these problems.

You may need to reinstall from the beginning after you get this sorted- The Grub loader needs to be in the first boot disk and it then points at the drive and partition that the system boots from. If either of these are not correct you get lost.

Let us know what you find.

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2007, 07:23:44 pm »
I fall into the mystery category.  Hard disk is SATA 1; it's the first boot device (although, when I looked at it after an re-install attempt, it was back to second after I had changed it), and there's only one hard disk so it's in the fist and only boot order position.  I'm going to mess around with it a little more later.  Thanks for your help.