Author Topic: intel boot agent  (Read 3383 times)

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2007, 07:28:17 pm »
Hi, I reposted to this for a little background.  I've tried booting with both the SATA (port 0) and the disc drive in the boot poll position.  They both gave the 'insert boot disk' error after installation.  Here are some things I noticed, so that perhaps someone more knowledgeable than I could give it a look:

1) If I set the hard drive as the first boot disk previous to installation, after installation the DVD drive is listed as first
2) there is an error just before installation completes.  It says the following:
unmounting temporary filesystems
unmount:/ cow: not found                           [fail]
unmount: function not implemented
    * casper is resyncing snapshots and caching reboot files....
3) in the BIOS, it is set to search for hard disks for 0 seconds (that was what it was set at).  Should that be different?

Any help would be appreciated, as I'd really like to give LMCE a try.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2007, 08:03:43 pm »
I think the install isn't finishing. The Casper message doesn't happen after the install I believe. Its part of the software that pushes the install image onto the hard disk. Perhaps someone else has more recent experience with this.

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2007, 08:09:16 pm »
you might want to try kubuntu and the cds and see how far that gets you.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2007, 08:20:43 pm »
What would that do differently?

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2007, 09:14:54 pm »
the dvd is built from an image of a system that had linuxmce installed but hadnt yet been configured. if the hardware is substantially different people have had difficulty loading from it. if you are unable to install kubuntu either, then it may be a problem with the hardware being bad. that would let you know. have you tried installing kubuntu or windows on it to see if either of those will work?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

schwagner

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2007, 09:31:30 pm »
Yes, I had previously been running both Windows and Kubuntu, both of which worked fine.  Perhaps I'll give that a try, I guess.

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2007, 09:45:26 pm »
the CDs might give you some logs to look at if it doesnt work. that could help you diagnose the problem. you could always hope itll just work though  ;)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #22 on: September 27, 2007, 11:27:26 pm »
I had the same problem my first time installing Kubuntu.
It was caused by the Grub not installing where I thought it would, but on another HDD.
But you only have one HDD on the machine right?
If that is the case I'd go for Teedges suggestion.

For the record, the boot order can be CD/DVD-HDD-PXE/LAN and it should never get to PXE. It's not a problem putting the DVD first (unless you have a habit of leaving bootable CD's in the drive  ;))

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2007, 11:32:06 pm »
one thing i thought and im not really sure if it even makes sense....if for some reason it isnt reading the boot record then the next, and last, thing it would go to would be pxe. after that it would be out of options and just be stuck with the pxe part. i thought i read earlier you had....but did you try the other SATA ports? im sure i read you had it on 0. i dont know what to think other than try the CDs and let us know.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

jriofrio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #24 on: September 28, 2007, 05:23:23 pm »
Hello Schwaner..

There are two things come to my mind reading your post.

1._ The PC can not read the HDD, so boot again from the DVD and reformat the HDD and reinstall again.

2._ The BIOS setup on the PC need to be change. I do not know how old is you PC, so, usually when the PC tries to boot from a HDD, it looks at the IDE 0 if it does not find it, it goes through all the devices in the BIOS order boot list. Not boot device = error message.

Well, hope you still have your motherboard manual (if not, search on the web), there is a setup in the BIOS that will let the PC know that you are using the SATA 1, HDD and not the IDE 0. I do not know which motherboard you have, so you need to find that in the manual.

Well, hope this will help.

Juan

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: intel boot agent
« Reply #25 on: September 28, 2007, 06:28:07 pm »
I had a similar problem on an Nvidia 7050 based MB. It would not boot from the PATA interface. But it worked fine from the Sata interface??? I just chalked it up to new hardware with software support issues. And used a Sata drive to get on with life. This may be a similar hardware / software issue. And the drivers on the DVD image are from the release date of 704 and not updated. You may need updated drivers for it to work. LMCE has turned off the normal update system to prevent the system from self-destructing from an untested update.
                  -Demian